Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Research grants to improve road safety.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Home Media Centre   Media Releases   Subscribe   Speeches   Media Links Ministers Department Search Index Help

28 June 2000 B29/2000


Over $163,000 has been provided for nine road safety research grant projects which were announced today by Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Transport and Regional Services, Senator Ron Boswell.

The grants fall under the Australian Transport Safety Bureau’s 1999-2000 Road Safety Research Grant Scheme and will examine a diverse range of road safety subjects.

"It is important that road safety initiative are backed up by thorough research," Senator Boswell said.

"The Federal Government makes these grants available to researchers and the community as a cost-effective way of ensuring additional interest in road safety research issues.

"These grants will go to road safety specialists for specific research tasks which have the potential to identify improved measures to reduce road deaths and injuries," he said.

Senator Boswell noted the projects examine such diverse subjects as the design of safety barriers, sign supports, motor cycle helmets, fatigue and the effects of medicinal drug combinations on drivers.

Details of the nine recipients selected under the Road Safety Research Grant Scheme are attached.

Media Contact: Perin Davey: (07) 3001 8150



THE 1999-2000 AUSTRALIAN TRANSPORT SAFETY BUREAU ROAD SAFETY RESEARCH GRANT SCHEME Mr Donald Morgan in Queensland to investigate motor cycle helmet liner design and protection. ●

Dr Tony Machin of the University of Southern Queensland to identify and develop coping strategies for stress and fatigue suffered by express coach drivers. ●

Dr Wendy MacDonald of La Trobe University, Victoria, to evaluate a new process for assessing possible driving skill impairments. ●

Dr Tania Vodenitcharova of the University of New South Wales to develop a computer program for the design of safe sign structures. ●

Dr Narelle Haworth of Monash University, Victoria, to explore relationships between safety and fuel efficient driving. ●

Associate Professor Trevor Norman of the University of Melbourne to investigate driving ability of patients combining two drug types. ●

Professor John Trinder of the University of Melbourne to investigate sleep and driving behaviours in young adults. ●

Mr Barry Watson of the Centre for Accident Research and Road Safety, Queensland, to ●

investigate factors contributing to unlicensed driving.

Professor Rod Troutbeck of Queensland University of Technology to investigate roadside crash barrier design and vehicle dynamics. ●


Top of Page

Please direct general design and content comments to: For technical comments, please eMail:

© Commonwealth of Australia 2000 Last updated:  Thursday, 29 June 2000