Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Broadband Blueprint Industry Reference Group.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Senator the Hon Helen Coonan Minister for Communications, Information Technology and the Arts Deputy Leader of the Government in the Senate

Media Release

Media Contact: Jane McMillan 0438 690 305

071/06 17 July 2006

Broadband Blueprint Industry Reference Group

The Minister for Communications, Information Technology and the Arts, Senator Helen Coonan, today chaired the first meeting of an Industry Reference Group brought together to work on a Broadband Blueprint for Australia.

Announced earlier this year, the Blueprint will provide a national framework for the rollout of next generation broadband infrastructure and services for Australia by governments and by the private sector.

“I have convened this industry group to provide an additional source of advice to government from an industry perspective to assist in the development of the Broadband Blueprint,” Senator Coonan said.

“Industry involvement is critical to ensuring we get the most appropriate framework for the continued development of a competitive and vibrant broadband market.”

The members of the group bring a wealth of experience and expertise and represent a broad cross-section of relevant industry groups. The Industry Reference Group will provide strategic advice on key issues and emerging trends affecting the development and implementation of the Broadband Blueprint in Australia.

“These individuals are in a sound position to provide an objective assessment of what is needed to secure Australia’s broadband future,” Senator Coonan said.

The Industry Reference Group comprises:

• Mr Paul Cameron—General Manager, IT Infrastructure, Suncorp Ltd;

• Mr Dick Estens - Chair, Regional Telecommunications Inquiry (2002);

• Mr Ross Fowler—Managing Director, Australia and New Zealand, Cisco Systems Ltd;

• Ms Ros Hill—Manager, eHealth Planning Unit, Division of Community, Population and Rural Health, Department of Health and Human Services, Tasmania;

• Dr Terry Percival - Director, Neville Roach Laboratory, NICTA; and

• Dr Michael Sargent - Chair, National Collaborative Research Infrastructure Strategy.

The Broadband Blueprint will ensure all Australians have access to world class telecommunications services within an open and competitive market environment, and that Australia becomes a world leader in the effective use of broadband.

The Industry Reference Group will next meet on 11 August in Canberra.