Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
ABC Board appointments.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Media Release

Senator the Hon Helen Coonan Minister for Communications, Information Technology and the Arts 009/04

24 February 2005

ABC Board Appointments The Minister for Communications, Information Technology and the Arts, Senator Helen Coonan, today announced the reappointment of Mr John Gallagher, QC, and the appointment of Ms Janet Albrechtsen as Directors of the Board of the Australian Broadcasting Corporation.

"I am delighted that Mr Gallagher has accepted the invitation to continue his role on the ABC Board for a further three years and that Ms Albrechtsen has agreed to join the Board on a five-year appointment," Senator Coonan said.

Mr Gallagher first joined the board in December 1999 on a five-year appointment. He is a Barrister and Queen's Counsel. His range of legal experience includes broadcasting, environmental, heritage, licensing, valuation and general commercial cases.

Mr Gallagher was formerly a Director of Mackay Television Limited (1971-1987) as well as a Director of companies operating hotels in Queensland and New South Wales from 1960 to 1996.

Ms Albrechtsen, a former solicitor, is a newspaper columnist with The Australian newspaper. She has previously worked for The Australian Financial Review, The Sydney Morning Herald, The Age, The Sunday Age and Quadrant magazine.

She was previously employed with law firm Freehill, Hollingdale and Page, practising in the areas of banking and finance, corporate and securities law.

"The ABC is one of Australia's primary cultural institutions with a very significant and valued role to play in Australian life," Senator Coonan said.

"I am confident that Mr Gallagher will continue to make valuable contributions to the ABC and that Ms Albrechtsen's skills and experience will prove a worthwhile asset to the ABC."