Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
New Chairman for ANSTO.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Media Release

New Chairman for ANSTO

4 March 2007

The Minister for Education, Science and Training, the Hon Julie Bishop MP, today announced the appointment of Dr Zygmunt (Ziggy) Switkowski as the new Chairman of the Board of the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO).

“Dr Switkowski’s extensive experience in business, public company and corporate governance, coupled with his nuclear physics qualifications, provide him with excellent credentials as the Chair for ANSTO, Australia’s only research organisation devoted solely to nuclear science and technology,” Minister Bishop said.

“This important appointment takes place at an exciting time for ANSTO, with the construction of the new OPAL reactor now complete and commissioning proceeding successfully. The Board will play an important role in ensuring that ANSTO is positioned to capitalise on the significant new opportunities that OPAL provides.

“Dr Switkowski chaired the Uranium Mining, Processing and Nuclear Energy Review Taskforce which reported to the Government in December last year.

“One of the key findings of the Taskforce was that Australia needed to boost nuclear science and engineering education and training if Australia decides to expand its role in the nuclear fuel cycle and in nuclear research.

ANSTO will play a key role in developing a skilled workforce with nuclear expertise. ANSTO announced recently that it has initiated a graduate program to recruit and train 15 graduates per year.

“Dr Switkowski’s appointment coincides with the commissioning of the new OPAL reactor that will place ANSTO among the top three nuclear research facilities in the world.”

Media Contacts: Minister Bishop’s Office: Murray Hansen 0417 886 155

Media Centre