Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Behind every great woman there's another one.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Federal Member for Wannon

Hamilton Office 190 Gray St, HAMILTON VIC 3300 Warrnambool Office 73 Kepler St WARRNAMBOOL VIC 3280 Freecall 1300 131 692 E W

April 4, 2008


Federal Member for Wannon David Hawker today encouraged locals to nominate outstanding Western Victorian business women for the 2008 Telstra Business Women’s Awards.

“Our region has so many inspirational women in our midst whose contribution and dedication to our community is tremendous. I believe that it’s important that we say thank you to these women and nominate them for these prestigious Awards and give them the recognition they deserve,” Mr Hawker said.

Nominations are now open for the 2008 Telstra Business Women’s Awards, which recognise successful women across the country for their business acumen and career success. The annual program has been a prominent event on the business calendar since 1995, and recognises the many achievements of Australian women and their invaluable contributions to business and the wider community.

“These Awards recognise and celebrate the success of women across the country from all backgrounds and a wide range of business achievements. From business owners and corporate leaders, to innovators, community visionaries and successful young women, I encourage locals to nominate a business woman they’re proud of and inspired by,” Mr Hawker said.

Entrants are judged on a range of criteria and Award winners will share in over $200,000 in cash grants, products and services.

There are five Award categories open to business women this year:

• The Business Owner Award - for owners with a 50 per cent share or more in a business with responsibility for key management decision making; • The Hudson Private and Corporate Sector Award - for employees in the private and corporate sector, or owners with less than a 50 per cent share of a business; • The IBM Community and Government Award - for employees in government departments, statutory bodies and not-for-

profit organisations; • The Business Innovation Award - for eligible business owners, private sector employees and entrepreneurs who answer the Innovation questions in the Entry Form; and • The Young Business Women’s Award - for entrants in one of the above categories who will be aged 34 years or under as at

Friday, 6 June 2008.

Awards are offered in each state and territory, and an overall state / territory winner is selected from the category winners. These overall state / territory winners then become eligible to win the 2008 Telstra Australian Business Woman of the Year, which will be announced at the national final in December. In additional, all state / territory category Award winners compete at the national Awards to become the national winner in their category. .

To nominate yourself or another inspirational Western Victorian business women visit the website or call 1800 817 536 during business hours. -ENDS-

Media Contact Mieka Symes 03 5561 6405