Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
New Chairman for the Wine and Brandy Corporation.

Download PDFDownload PDF

BACK Home | Media Releases DAFF06/83PM - 23 June 2006

New Chairman for the Wine and Brandy Corporation

John Moore AO has been appointed as Chairman of the Australian Wine and Brandy Corporation (AWBC).

Australian Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry, Peter McGauran, said Mr Moore would begin his three-year appointment on 1 July 2006.

“Mr Moore is well suited to the task, having held a variety of senior positions in the public and private sectors,” Mr McGauran said.

”He has a Bachelor of Commerce from Queensland University, and built a successful stockbroking and corporate advisory business before entering Parliament.

“His parliamentary career included ministerial responsibility for Industry, Science and Tourism and also for Business and Consumer Affairs.”

Mr McGauran said the Australian wine industry had been an outstanding success, with exports continuing their 20-year growth.

“However, wine grape growers and winemakers alike are facing uncertainty because of an oversupply of wine grapes, as well as a difficult world market,” he said.

“I am confident the AWBC, under Mr Moore’s leadership, will help the wine industry tackle these challenges and remain one of Australian agriculture’s greatest success stories.”

Mr McGauran thanked retiring Chairman, David Brownhill, for overseeing a number of significant achievements during his six years in the position, including a major refreshment and relaunch of ‘Wine Brand Australia’.

Mr Moore will join Board members Angus Kennedy, Michael de Palma, Leon Deans, Caroline Dunn, Andrew Moore and Mark Purbrick, who were appointed in May 2005, and the Government Member, Geoff Gorrie.

Further media inquiries:

Minister McGaurans' office: Nancy Joseph 02 6277 7520

© Commonwealth of Australia 2002-2005 | Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry | Other DAFF Ministers | Prime Minister's website