Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Government delivers on promise to phase out full fee degrees.

Download PDFDownload PDF

The Hon Julia Gillard MP

Minister for Education. Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations Minister for Social Inclusion. Deputy Prime Minister 29 October, 2008

Media Release

Government Delivers on Promise to Phase Out Full Fee Degrees

The Minister for Education, Julia Gillard, has announced that the Australian Government has approved the

allocation of 2 607 new Commonwealth supported places and $9.76 million in transitional assistance for

public universities in 2009 to phase out full fee undergraduate degrees for Australian students.

As promised at the last election, the Rudd Government is phasing out full fee paying places for domestic

undergraduate students at public universities.

The Rudd Government wants to make sure that young Australians have the skills to make Australia a more

productive and prosperous nation.

The Government is committed to phasing out full fee degrees to ensure Australian students gain entry to

university on merit, not ability to pay.

Funding of $26.45 million has been allocated to 18 universities for 2 607 commencing undergraduate places

in 2009. These places are expected to grow to 7 382 places by 2012 and funding is expected to amount to $192


Thirteen universities did not request Commonwealth Supported Places to replace full fee paying places. They

were either offering no full fee paying places or only a small number that could be absorbed, generally because

of under enrolment in their existing allocation of Commonwealth supported places.

Page 1 of 3.

Six universities sought less than a one-for-one replacement place and seven requested one-for-one

replacement places. Five universities sought more than one-for-one replacement places.

Transitional assistance will help universities offering replacement Commonwealth supported places in

activities such as Indigenous medicine, nursing and health initiatives at Monash University, improved law

teaching facilities at the University of Sydney and the provision of medicine places at the University of

Queensland’s Ipswich campus.

Transitional assistance of $9.76 million has been allocated to nine universities for 2009 bringing the total

Budget allocation for 2009 to $36.2 million.

The 2008-09 Budget provided $249 million in additional Commonwealth Grant Scheme funding for up to

11,000 Commonwealth supported places by 2011. This funding is being used flexibly to support the places

requested by universities and to provide transitional assistance.

The Government will consider changes to funding arrangements that may be required following the Review of

Higher Education and the negotiation of mission-based funding compacts to take effect from 2010.

The Bradley Review will provide its final report and recommendations to the Government in December as


A list of the universities receiving the Commonwealth supported places and the transitional assistance funding

is attached.

Universities receiving additional Commonwealth

supported places to replace full fee paying places

Number of Commonwealth

supported places for 2009

Deakin University 568.0

The University of New South Wales 333.0

Monash University 324.0

RMIT University 207.0

The University of Sydney 200.1

University of Technology Sydney 175.0

Swinburne University 136.8

Macquarie University 125.1

Australian Catholic University 111.0

The University of Melbourne 100.0

The University of Newcastle 100.0

La Trobe University 88.4

The University of Queensland 55.0

Griffith University 36.2

Page 2 of 3

Media Contact:

Southern Cross University 28.0

Flinders University 11.0

The University of Adelaide 7.0

University of Western Sydney 1.0

Total 2606.6

Universities receiving transitional assistance funding in 2009 Funding approved

Monash University $2,000,000

Deakin University $1,900,000

The University of Sydney $1,900,000

University of Technology, Sydney $1,532,000

University of New South Wales $885,250

The University of Melbourne $810,000

University of Queensland $460,000

Flinders University $125,000

University of Newcastle $150,000

Total $9 762 250

Page 3 of 3