Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Tourism Australia Board appointments announced.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Minister for Resources and Energy, Minister for Tourism

TOURISM AUSTRALIA BOARD APPOINTEES ANNOUNCED The Minister for Tourism, the Hon Martin Ferguson AM MP, today announced the appointments of Ms Terri Janke and Ms Janet Whiting to the Tourism Australia Board of Directors for a period of three years. Minister Ferguson also announced the re-appointments of Ms Jane Jeffreys and Mr Peter Burnett for a period of one year. All appointments take effect from 1 July 2008.

Minister Ferguson said that the strength of the appointees' skills and experience will enhance the Board's skills and governance capability, and provide an appropriate balance to the existing members' expertise. The Board will be well placed to drive a new era of tourism marketing by Tourism Australia.

"Ms Terri Janke, solicitor director of Terri Janke and Company, brings a unique understanding of the legal and business issues associated with Indigenous art, music, language, film, literature, heritage and traditional knowledge. This is reflected in her extensive work experience in Indigenous culture and intellectual property. Her involvement in Indigenous art projects spans the international and national levels. She participated in the Australia 2020 Summit, debating and developing long-term options for the future of Indigenous Australians," Minister Ferguson said.

"In appointing Ms Janet Whiting, a director of the Victorian Major Events Company, the Board is gaining extensive legal experience in corporate governance, probity and regulatory areas. She is a trusted adviser to a number of leading Australian organisations and is highly regarded for her strategic advice, detailed analysis and ability to achieve commercial solutions. She has served as a Director with organisations such as the Melbourne International Festival of the Arts Ltd and the L'Oreal Melbourne Fashion Festival throughout her professional career.

Minister Ferguson said: "I am pleased to re-appoint Ms Jane Jeffreys of Jane Jeffreys Consulting. Ms Jeffreys has extensive expertise in events management, organisational management and human resources. She advises senior executives on strategic issues, including governance and performance of boards. Her experience on various tourism boards, including the South Australian Tourism Commission and the Adelaide Convention Centre, will provide considerable insights into the Australian tourism industry.

"I am also re-appointing Mr Peter Burnett who has considerable experience in the hotel, hospitality and tourism related industries. Mr Burnett's continued involvement will strengthen the business, marketing, promotion and management skills of the Tourism Australia Board. He is the National Vice-President of the Australian Hotels Association, President of the Victorian Branch of the Australian Hotels Association and Board Member of the Australian Gaming Council. He was awarded the Centenary Medal for his contribution to the Australian Hotel Industry.

Minister Ferguson looks forward to working with the new Board. He also thanked the retiring Board members, Ms Valerie Davies and Ms Karen Jacobs for their significant contribution to the work of

The Hon Martin Ferguson AM MP

The H

on Martin Ferguson AM MP

27 Jun 2008

the Board.

Media contact: Michael Bradley - 0420 371 744