Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Labor treats pensioners with contempt.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Margaret May MP

Federal Member for McPherson Shadow Minister for Ageing


24 September 2008


Following passage of the Urgent Relief for Single Age Pension Bill 2008 through the

Senate on Monday, the Coalition moved to introduce the Bill into the House of

Representatives on Tuesday.

The Rudd Labor Government used its majority in the House to ensure the Bill was

not successfully introduced.

In so doing, the Labor Government has ensured single age pensioners must

continue to wait, and suffer, for any relief from rising petrol prices, rising rents, rising

costs of pharmaceuticals and rising costs of tea and coffee.

“I can’t imagine a lower act from any Government than the one they perpetrated on

older Australians today,” Margaret said.

“The contempt shown by this Labor Government towards Senior Australians is

beyond belief.

“In the electorate of Richmond, which adjoins my electorate of McPherson, there are

7,315 single age pension recipients. The Member for Richmond, Justine Elliot, will

return to her electorate this week and I can’t imagine how she intends to explain

away her decision to vote against a rise of $30-a-week in much needed relief for the

7,315 single age pensioners in Richmond.

“Senior members of the Government have admitted there is no way they could live

on the single age pension rate of $273-a-week.

“Those same Members voted against a rise of $30-a-week in the single age pension

rate,” Margaret said.

Below is a list of every Member of Parliament who voted against the

introduction of the Coalition’s Bill.

Media Contact: Josh Rosner (02) 6277 4716 or 0418 622 247

Electorate Member Party Single age pensioners

in electorate

Adelaide The Hon Kate Ellis ALP 7 801

Ballarat Ms Catherine King ALP 6 396

Banks Mr Daryl Melham ALP 6 637

Barton The Hon Robert McClelland ALP 6 396

Bass Ms Jodie Campbell ALP 4 866

Batman The Hon Martin Ferguson ALP 7 642

Bendigo Mr Steve Gibbons ALP 7 236

Bennelong The Hon Maxine McKew ALP 6 015

Blair Mr Shayne Neumann ALP 6 057

Blaxland Mr Jason Clare ALP 7 458

Bonner Ms Kerry Rea ALP 5 540

Braddon Mr Sid Sidebottom ALP 5 049

Brand The Hon Gary Gray ALP 5 709

Bruce The Hon Alan Griffin ALP 6 520

Calwell Ms Maria Vamvakinou ALP 4 534

Canberra Ms Annette Ellis ALP 4 389

Capricornia Ms Kirsten Livermore ALP 5 879

Charlton The Hon Greg Combet ALP 6 619

Chifley The Hon Roger Price ALP 5 462

Chisholm Ms Anna Burke ALP 6 142

Corangamite Mr Darren Cheeseman ALP 5 977

Corio Mr Richard Marles ALP 6 902

Cunningham Ms Sharon Bird ALP 6 786

Dawson Mr James Bidgood ALP 4 862

Deakin Mr Mike Symon ALP 6 243

Denison The Hon Duncan Kerr ALP 5 075

Dobell Mr Craig Thomson ALP 7 742

Eden-Monaro The Hon Dr Mike Kelly ALP 5 872

Flynn Mr Chris Trevor ALP 4 458

Forde Mr Brett Raguse ALP 4 677

Fowler Mrs Julia Irwin ALP 4 739

Franklin Ms Julie Collins ALP 4 225

Fraser The Hon Bob McMullan ALP 4 149

Fremantle Ms Melissa Parke ALP 5 381

Gellibrand The Hon Nicola Roxon ALP 7 422

Gorton The Hon Brendan O’Connor ALP 4 894

Grayndler The Hon Anthony Albanese ALP 7 092

Hasluck Ms Sharryn Jackson ALP 4 622

Hindmarsh Mr Steve Georganas ALP 8 633

Holt The Hon Anthony Byrne ALP 4 449

Hotham The Hon Simon Crean ALP 6 611

Hunter The Hon Joel Fitzgibbon ALP 5 900

Isaacs Mr Mark Dreyfus ALP 7 052

Jagajaga The Hon Jenny Macklin ALP 5 099

Kingsford Smith The Hon Peter Garrett ALP 7 386

Kingston Ms Amanda Rishworth ALP 5 355

Lalor The Hon Julia Gillard ALP 4 319

Leichhardt Mr Jim Turnour ALP 4 868

Lilley The Hon Wayne Swan ALP 6 394

Lindsay Mr David Bradbury ALP 4 762

Lingiari The Hon Warren Snowdon ALP 2 079

Longman Mr Jon Sullivan ALP 5 567

Lowe The Hon John Murphy ALP 5 931

Lyons The Hon Dick Adams ALP 4 428

Macquarie The Hon Bob Debus ALP 6 625

Makin Mr Tony Zappia ALP 4 905

Maribyrnong The Hon Bill Shorten ALP 6 536

Melbourne The Hon Lindsay Tanner ALP 5 852

Melbourne Ports Mr Michael Danby ALP 5 731

Moreton Mr Graham Perrett ALP 4 463

Newcastle Ms Sharon Grierson ALP 7 526

Oxley Mr Bernie Ripoll ALP 4 593

Page Ms Janelle Saffin ALP 7 242

Parramatta Ms Julie Owens ALP 5 967

Petrie Mrs Yvette D’Ath ALP 7 223

Port Adelaide Mr Mark Butler ALP 8 654

Prospect The Hon Chris Bowen ALP 5 382

Rankin The Hon Dr Craig Emerson ALP 4 059

Reid The Hon Laurie Ferguson ALP 6 303

Richmond The Hon Justine Elliot ALP 7 315

Robertson Ms Belinda Neal ALP 8 010

Solomon Mr Damien Hale ALP 1 991

Sydney The Hon Tanya Plibersek ALP 5 401

Throsby Ms Jennie George ALP 6 457

Wakefield Mr Nick Champion ALP 6 343

Watson The Hon Tony Burke ALP 6 708

Werriwa Mr Chris Hayes ALP 4 609

Wills Mr Kelvin Thomson ALP 8 377