Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Nominations now open for Australian of the Year Awards 2009

Download PDFDownload PDF

Media Contact Cath O’Connor (03) 5032 4510 -ends-

Tuesday, 29 July 2008


Nominations for the Australian of the Year Awards 2009 are now open and John Forrest, The Nationals Federal Member for Mallee, is encouraging Mallee residents to submit nominations for Australian of the Year, Senior Australian of the Year, Young Australian of the Year and Australia’s Local Hero.

“There are many people in our community who are doing great things, from unsung heroes who work tirelessly for others to those who have achieved at a high level,” Mr Forrest said.

“If you have know someone you believe should be an Australian of the Year, nominate them now. By nominating them you may help find the Australian of the Year for 2009,” he said.

Every person nominated receives a certificate of recognition from the National Australia Day Council.

You can nominate a great Australian online at or pick up a nomination form at your local Commonwealth Bank branch or call 1300 655 193 for more information. Nominations close Sunday, 31 August 2008.

Australian of the Year Award recipients has included Lee Kernaghan, OAM (Australian of the Year 2008), climate change crusader Professor Tim Flannery (Australian of the Year 2007), film maker Khoa Do (Young Australian of the Year 2005), bionic ear pioneer Professor Graeme Clark (Senior Australian of the Year 2001) and victims of crime advocate Donna Carson (Local Hero 2004).

All nominees must be Australian citizens.

John Forrest MP The Nationals Member for Mallee

Phone (03) 5032 4510 Fax (03) 5032 9407