Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Announcement of the National COVID-19 Coordination Commission (NCCC)

Download PDFDownload PDF

Announcement of the National COVID-19 Coordination Commission (NCCC)

Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet 25 March 2020

On 25 March 2020, the National COVID-19 Coordination Commission (NCCC) was established by Prime Minister Scott Morrison, to advise the Australian Government on anticipating and mitigating the effects of the global coronavirus COVID-19 pandemic.

The NCCC, based in the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, is tasked with ensuring the Government receives comprehensive advice to meet the challenges ahead related to economic and social recovery from the coronavirus.

The NCCC will be led by Mr Neville Power who has been appointed Chairman, to be supported by an Executive Board of Commissioners. The Board will work in tandem with the Chief Medical Officer (CMO) Dr Brendan Murphy, who continues to lead the Commonwealth’s health response.

The NCCC Executive Board comprises of leaders across the private and not-for-profit sectors; Mr David Thodey AO (Deputy Chair), Mr Greg Combet AM, Ms Jane Halton AO, Mr Paul Little AO and Ms Catherine Tanna. The Board will be joined by the Secretaries of the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, Mr Philip Gaetjens and Home Affairs, Mr Mike Pezzullo.

A whole-of-society, large scale economic approach is required to ensure Australia and Australians come through this unprecedented health crisis. The NCCC will advise and lead on private-to-private and public-to-private solutions that can unlock resources, break bottlenecks and address challenges for all Australians, including families, businesses and communities.

The Commission will be guided by the best medical advice while putting the economic and social wellbeing of all Australians front and centre. More information about the NCCC, its governance, work and priorities will be announced shortly.