Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Second auditing inquiry

Download PDFDownload PDF


Senator James Paterson

Chair, Parliamentary Joint Committee on Corporations and Financial Services Liberal Senator for Victoria

Monday 25th November 2019

Second auditing inquiry

The Parliamentary Joint Committee on Corporations and Financial Services will hold a second hearing into the regulation of auditing at a public hearing in Canberra on Friday, 29th November, 2019.

The committee will hear from a host of industry witnesses, following on from the first auditing inquiry hearing held on Tuesday, 19 November 2019 in Sydney.

The committee will hear evidence from industry professionals including academics, representatives from industry associations, and the department of Treasury.

Public hearing details Date: Friday, 29th November 2019 Time: 8.50am to 5:10pm Location: Committee Room 2S3, Parliament House Canberra The hearing will be broadcast live at

Media inquiries Sophie McKendry, Media Advisor - Office of Senator James Paterson (Committee Chair) P: 0451 007 915 Electorate Office: (03) 9690 2201 Parliament Office: (02) 6277 3719

For background information Committee Secretariat P: +61 2 6277 3583 E: For more information about this Committee, you can visit its website. On the site, you can also track the Committee and receive email updates by clicking on the blue ‘Track Committee’ button in the bottom right hand corner of the page.

Committee Chair: Senator James Paterson Committee Secretary: Dr Patrick Hodder

PO Box 6100, Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600 Tel: +61 2 6277 3583 Fax: +61 2 6277 5719 Email: Internet:



Regulation of Auditing

PUBLIC HEARING Friday 29 November 2019

Committee Room 2S3, Parliament House, Canberra

Time Witness

8.50 am Professor Allan Fels (Telephone conference)

9.30 am Australian National Audit Office

10.10 am G100

10.50 am Break

11.00 am Professor James Guthrie

11.40 am

Australian Auditing and Assurance Standards Board Australian Accounting Standards Board Financial Reporting Council

12.30 pm Lunch

1.20 pm

Adjunct Professor Stuart Kells Professor Zahirul Hoque Professor Ian Gow (Telephone conference)

2.10 pm Professor Ken Trotman

2.50 pm Chartered Accountants Australia New Zealand

3.30 pm Break

3.40 pm Mr Jeffrey Knapp

4.20 pm Treasury

5.10 pm Adjournment