Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Sharman Stone returned as Member for Murray

Download PDFDownload PDF

THE HON DR SHARMAN STONE MP Federal Member for Murray

Friday 20 September 2013

Sharman Stone returned as Member for Murray

Dr Sharman Stone was officially declared the next Member for Murray following the declaration of the poll by the Divisional Returning Officer today.

The results were announced at the traditional ceremony at the Australian Electoral Commission Murray electorate office in Shepparton.

At the latest count Dr Stone’s margin on the two party preferred vote count was 62,514, which is 70.88% of the vote, and an increased margin of 1.30%.

Speaking at the declaration of the poll, Sharman Stone congratulated the 10 other candidates who put themselves forward for this election and noted that this was the largest number of candidates ever to stand for the seat of Murray.

Sharman also expressed concern about the more than 5% whose votes did not count because their ballot papers were not completed correctly. People wanted their votes to count but the huge Senate paper in particular confused people.

“We will need to do much more education for first time voters,” Sharman Stone said.

“It is an honour to once again represent the people of Murray and I will continue to work hard for the benefit of the electorate. I will always put the electorate before any other,” Sharman Stone said.

Dr Stone’s first priorities are to follow up on the Productivity Commission report into the SPCA Emergency Safeguard actions and to campaign for changes to the water in the Murray Darling Basin Plan.

Media: Mary Coad 0400941210