Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
National Road Transport Commission appointment

Download PDFDownload PDF

Media Release


The Minister for Transport and Regional Services, John Anderson, today announced the reappointment of Stuart Hicks as chairman of the National Road Transport Commission (NRTC).

Ms Virginia Hickey and Mr Rae Taylor were appointed as members of the Commission. The appointments come into effect on 15 January 1999, for three-year terms.

The appointments were made by the Governor General under the provisions of the National Road Transport Commission Act 1991, after Federal and State Transport Ministers, meeting on 4 December as the Ministerial Council for Road Transport, agreed on nominees for the positions.

Mr Anderson said a further two Commissioners would be appointed early next year, bringing the total membership to five.

“I look forward to working with the new Commission on the vitally important job of making Australia’s road transport system more efficient and safer. We all depend on road transport, and it is especially important in the lives of regional Australians,” Mr Anderson said.

“I would also like to express my thanks to Mr John Stanley as Deputy Chairman and Ms Caroline Ameduri as a commission member for the excellent jobs they have

Minister for Transport and Regional Services

24A 18th December 1998


Media contact: Paul Chamberlin (02) 62777680 / 0419 233989