Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
National RSL calls for resounding vote to republic

Download PDFDownload PDF

To: Political editor

PLS Resource Development



Notional Office: Level 11. 185 M acquarie Street. Sydney NSW 2000 · GPO Box 9841, Sydney NSW 2001 Telephone: (G2) 9231 2?00 · Tcll-Tree: 1BD0 6?2 229 · -Facsimile: (02) 9231 2359 email.· ocm hq@ .au -

1 September 1999



At the official opening o f the RSL National Congress 1999 in Hobart today the National RSL President, Major-General P- R. Phillips pledged the RSL would oppose the republic model on offer on November 6.

Major-General Phillips emphasised the republic model threatens the safeguards in our current constitutional arrangements. He called on RSL members to help the NO case across the nation. His call was endorsed by the Hon Bruce Scott MP, Minister for Veterans Affairs and Minister assisting the Minister for Defence, representing o f the Prime Minister o f Australia at the official Congress opening. Minister Scott pledged his personal opposition to the Turnbull republic.

No Republic-ACM Executive Director Mrs Kerry Jones will address tire Congress later today. She will welcome the RSL’s commitment to tire NO case which she sees as one o f the most significant additions to the NO voice that has yet occurred in the debate.

Mrs Jones will be available at 3pm for media interviews in Hobart, alternatively the paper is available from Pru Jessep on 02 9231 2200 or Steven Mavrigiannakis (Tasmanian Director) 0414 332 482

Statement by Mrs Kerry Jones, Executive Director No Republic-Australians for Constitutional Monarchy Mobile: 0417 213 228

National Convenor; Professor David Flint AM * Executive Direc’or: Mrs Kerry Jones C am paign Director: David Elliot: · Treasurer; Sir John Aiwm Kt cr.

National Council: Tng Rt Hon Sir Harry Gibbs GCMG AC KBE, G areth Grainger. Stephen Hall AM. Angelo Hatsatourls OAM, Dame Leonie Kiamer AC DSC. Vahoi Naufohu, The Hon Barry O'Keefe AM. Dt M argaret Olley AO, Mr Jeffrey Phillips, The u on Helen Sham-Ho MIC, Mr Doug Sutherland AM