Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Expert seven to deliver $200m clean tech innovation program

Download PDFDownload PDF

THE HON GREG COMBET AM MP Minister for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency Minister for Industry and Innovation


GC 242/12 23 August 2012


An expert committee of seven leading business figures has been appointed to assist Innovation Australia deliver the $200 million Clean Technology Innovation Program.

The committee, chaired by Dr Susan Pond AM, and including Ms Anne-Marie Birkill, Mr Adrian Chegwidden, Mr Peter Janssen, Mr John O’Brien, Dr Jane Sargison, and Ms Fiona Waterhouse, will assess applications by businesses for funding through the Clean Technology Innovation Program.

Announcing the committee, the Minister for Industry and Innovation, Greg Combet, said there has been strong interest in the Program since it was launched last month and it would help businesses to find innovative ways of reducing greenhouse gas emissions.

“This committee of experts, between them, has more than 150 years of experience in working with and in businesses to foster a culture of innovation and entrepreneurship, especially in the sustainable energy and environmental industries,” Mr Combet said.

“I am pleased we have been able to attract a committee of this calibre to help deliver the Clean Technology Innovation Program. They will play a vital role in assessing applications to this merit-based program.”

The $200 million in Clean Technology Innovation funding is an opportunity for innovative local firms to access matched grants ranging from $50,000 to $5 million to improve Australian industry competitiveness.

“The Clean Technology Innovation Program is an important part of the Gillard Government’s plan for a Clean Energy Future and will help create new business opportunities, new industries and new jobs. We are looking for innovative projects involving applied research and development, proof of concept or early stage commercialisation activities,” Mr Combet said.

Information on the Clean Technology Innovation Program is available at or through the Hotline on 13 28 46. A webinar on the program can also be viewed from the website.

In addition, Dr Pond has been appointed to the Board of Innovation Australia, and Mr Gerard Noonan has been re-appointed to the Board.

Mr Noonan is Chair of the industry superannuation fund Media Super, a freelance writer and superannuation consultant. He currently chairs Innovation Australia’s Venture Capital Committee.

Biographies of the Clean Technology Innovation committee are available at Biographies of the Innovation Australia Board are available at

Media contact: Mark Davis; Gia Hayne (Mr Combet) 02 6277 7920 Trish Cattell (Department) 02 6213 7378