Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Appointment of member of the Australian Wool Board

Download PDFDownload PDF

F0 0

J 137






The Minister for Primary Industry,

Mr. Anthony, announced today the appointment of Mr. L.H.

Heaslip, O.B.E., as a member of the Australian Wool Board.

Mr. Anthony said ; " it .^Heaslip will

fill the vacancy in the membership of the Wool Board

caused by the tragic death of Mr.

F.R. Howell earlier

this year.

"Mr. Heaslip will serve as one of

the representatives of woolgrowers on the Board. He has

been appointed on the nomination of the Australian Wool

Industry Conference.

i1 His appointment is for the remainder

of the late Mr. Howell's term of office, which will

expire on April 30, 1973.

"Mr. Heaslip has played a leading

role for many years in wool industry affairs. I am

sure his ability and experience will enable him to

make a valuable contribution to the work of the

Australian Wool Board.1'


October 26, 1970.

Biographical Note Attached

Big ra hica l Note

HEASLIP, Lloyd Howard, 0.B.B.

Farmer, grazier and stud merino breeder; vice-president and former president of the Australian Wool and 14eat Producers' Federation; member of the executive of the Australian Wool Industry Conference since its establish-ment in 1963; member of the Governing Council and of

the Finance and Administration Committee of the United Farmers' and Graziers' Association of South Australia and immediate past chairman of the Wool and Meat Section

of the Association; chairman of the United Farmers' and Grazierst Co-operative Society; a director of South Australian 0o-•operative Bulk Handling Ltd.; lay member of the Restrictive Trade Practices Tribunal; past

resident of the National Farmers' Union of South Australia now the Australian Farmers' Federation). Address; 81 Northgate Street, Unley Park, South Australia.


Under the Wool Industry Act 1962-1970, the Australian Wool Board consists of 11 members, including the Chairman. Members of the Board are appointed for a term

of three years. However, the Act provides that where a member does not complete his term of appointment, another person may be appointed in his place for the remainder of his term.