Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Clean energy regulator appointments

Download PDFDownload PDF

THE HON GREG COMBET AM MP Minister for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency Minister for Industry and Innovation


GC 50/12 29 March 2012


The Minister for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency, Greg Combet, today announced the appointment of two new members of the Clean Energy Regulator.

Ms Jennie Granger and Dr Michael Sargent will join the Clean Energy Regulator from 2 April 2012.

Along with Ms Chloe Munro, who will become the Chair and Chief Executive Officer on 2 April, Ms Granger and Dr Sargent will assist in setting the strategic direction of the Clean Energy Regulator and making key regulatory decisions.

Ms Granger comes with a wealth of public sector experience including working as a Second Commissioner at the Australian Taxation Office.

Dr Sargent brings extensive experience from the energy sector having worked in numerous roles including as current Director at the Australian Energy Market Operator.

The Clean Energy Regulator is a key agency created as part of the Gillard Government’s Clean Energy Future plan.

It will be responsible for administering the carbon pricing mechanism, the National Greenhouse Energy Reporting Scheme, the Renewable Energy Target, the Australian National Registry of Emissions Units and the Carbon Farming Initiative.

Media contact: Mark Davis 0400 295 560; Gia Hayne 0412 060 406