Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Appointment of Members of the Australian Meat Board

Download PDFDownload PDF





Appointment of Members of the

Australian JVIeat Board

Statement by the Minister for Prima try

the Hon. J.D. Anthony

The Minister for Primary Industry, MI. Anthony, announced

today the appointment to the Australian Meat Board of Messrs J.M. Kerin

and J.P. Dempster as meat producer representatives.

In addition, the Minister has re-appointed Mr. J.A. Morris

as a meat exporter representative and Mr. P.N. Giles as the Commonwealth

representative on the Board.

The appointments are for a three-year term from 1st July, 1970.

Mr. Anthony said the appointments had been made in accordance

with the previsions of the Meat Industry Act 1964-1969.

The two meat producer representatives, Messrs Perin and

Dempster, were appointed on the nomination of the Australian Meat Board

Selection. Committee and will replace Messrs F.J. Horwood. and

A.J. Allingham, whose terms of appointment expire on 30th June, 1970.

The meat exporter representative, Mr. Morris, was appointed

on the nomination of the Australian Meat Exporters' Federal Council.

Colonel M.H. McArthur, O.B.E., will take up his appointment

as chairman of the Board on 1st July, 1970.

He will succeed Mr. J.L. Shute, C.M.G., O.B.E., who has held

that position since 1946 and who is retiring on 30th June, 1970,

following the conclusion of his present term of appointment.

Mr. Anthony said that Mr. Shute's contribution to the industry

was immeasurable.


"Mr. Shute has taken part in many international

negotiations - such as the U.IC./Australian Meat Agreement -- the

outcome of which were of vital importance to both the industry and

the Australian economY, 1° he said:

"He has been chairman during a period of great expansion

and change within the industry.

"During this period there had been a shift in the reliance

on the U.K. market for Australian meat exports I to the growth of the

United States market as our major outlet, together with the development

of a number of other markets.

"More recently Itir. Shute was involved in the introduction

of the export diversification scheme".

His efforts as chairman have placed him in a position of

high regard by the industry.

Mr. Anthony also paid tribute to Messrs Norwood and Allingham.

He said: "Mr. Horwood has been a member of the Board for

sixteen years and. was deputy chairman from July 1964, while

Mr. Allingham has served on the Board for six years.

"As representatives of Australian meat producers they have,

through their knowledge of the industry, greatly benefitted the Board

in its deliberations and their contribution to the work of the Board

and the industry is one of which they can be justly proud".


29th May, 1970.

Bicgraphical Notes on Appointees

Col. M.H. McArthur. Cattle and sheep l'reeder from Victoria.

Immediate past chairman of the Australian Egg Board. President of the

Council of Egg Marketing Authorities of Australia since its inception

in 1962. Company director and Councillor of the Royal Agricultural

Society of Victoria,

Mr. J.M. Kerins Engaged in farming and pastoral activities

(crops, sheep and cattle). Vice-president of United Farmers and

Graziers' of S.A. Inc. (Wool and Meat Section). Member of S.A. State

Lamb Committee, Australian Meat Research Committee and Australian Wool

Industry Conference.

Mr. J.P. Dempster : Engaged in pastoral activities (lamb,

wool and cattle). Executive member of the Pastoralists and Grazier.'

Association of A.A. (Inc.). Member of that Association's Cattle and

Meat Committee and delegate to the Australian Woolgrowers and Graziers'

Council Cattle Committee.

Mr. J.A. Morris: Sitting member of the Board, first appointed

in July 1967. Managing Director, Norman Smorgan & Sons Pty. Ltd.,

Brooklyn, Victoria. President of the Meat Exporters' Association

of Victoria.

Mr. F.N. Giles: Sitting member of the Board, first appointed

in July, 1964. First Assistant Secretary, Department of Primary Industry.