Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
2011 Prime Minister's Australian Exporter of the Year announced

Download PDFDownload PDF

The Hon Dr Craig Emerson MP Australian Minister for Trade and Competitiveness 2011 Prime Minister's Australian Exporter of the Year Announced Media release

8 December 2011

Prime Minister Julia Gillard has named engineering firm Sedgman Limited as the 2011 Australian Exporter of the Year,

praising its commitment to innovation and sustainability.

Sedgman designs, builds and operates coal and metal processing facilities in Asia, the Americas and Africa, as well as


It specialises in cleaning coal and has helped implement ecologically sustainable initiatives in many developing


Last year, the Queensland company doubled its export earnings, undertaking projects in more than 20 countries

including Mongolia, Mozambique, Botswana and Laos.

Sedgman's designs integrate various Australian-developed technologies, helping keep Australian expertise at the

forefront of coal processing globally.

The Prime Minister congratulated Sedgman on its achievements, which exemplify the skill and professionalism of

Australian exporters and their importance to the national economy.

The Australian Export Awards is one of the country's longest-running and most prestigious business award programs.

It honours the achievements of Australian exporters and celebrates their contribution to national prosperity.

The Prime Minister's Australian Exporter of the Year is selected from the winners of 12 national categories. Sedgman

was also the winner of the Minerals and Energy Award.

The 49th Australian Export Awards ceremony was hosted in Brisbane tonight by Trade Minister Craig Emerson, and co

-presented by the Australian Trade Commission and Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry.

Media enquiries

Minister Emerson's Office: (02) 6277 7420 ■

DFAT Media Liaison: (02) 6261 1555 ■

Page 1 of 1 2011 Prime Minister's Australian Exporter of the Year Anno...