Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Full Day's HansardDownload Full Day's Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Tuesday, 4 May 1971

Senator DRAKE-BROCKMAN - The Minister for Primary Industry has provided the following answer to the honourable senator's question:

(1)   and (2) The Consultative Committee on Drought was established by the Australian Agricultural Council at its 77th Meeting (Mt Hagen, June 1970) to examine and report on problems involving inter-state, multi-State or CommonwealthState aspects of:

(a)   drought relief

(b)   drought rehabilitation

(c)   drought mitigation

(d)   encouragement of forms of land use and/or farm management practices that take account of the permanent risk of drought.

(e)   other matters relevant to combatting drought or ameliorating its effects on rural industries.

The Consultative Committee is comprised of representatives of State Departments of Agriculture and Primary Industries and interested Commonwealth authorities including Primary Industry, Treasury, Interior, National Development, CSIRO, Bureau of Agricultural Economics, Bureau of Meteorology and the Northern Territory Administration. Subject to the approval of the Standing Committee on Agriculture and Consultative Committee may consult with other bodies with competence in regard to drought problems.

Suggest corrections