Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Full Day's HansardDownload Full Day's Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Tuesday, 12 September 1972
Page: 1236

Mr Whitlam asked the Minister for Foreign Affairs, upon notice:

(1)   What treaties on (a) nuclear weapons and (b) nuclear energy have yet to be ratified by Australia.

(2)   Which countries have so far ratified each such treaty,

Mr N H Bowen (PARRAMATTA, NEW SOUTH WALES) - The answer to the honourable member's question is as follows:

(1)   (a) The following nuclear weapons treaties have been signed but not yet ratified by Australia:

(i)   Treaty on the non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (signed by Australia 27th February 1970).

(ii)   Treaty on the Prohibition of the Emplacement of Nuclear Weapons and Other

Weapons of Mass Destruction on the Seabed and the Ocean Floor and in the subsoil. Therefore (signed by Australia 11th February 1971).

(b)   Australia has not yet ratified the following nuclear energy treaty: International Labour Organisation Convention No. US - Radiation Protection Convention 1960.

(2)   The following countries have ratified the abovementioned conventions or have become parties by, accession or succession:

(1)   (a) (i) Afghanistan, Austria, Bolivia, Botswana, Bulgaria, Burundi, Cameroon, Canada, Central African Republic, Chad, Republic of China, Costa Rica, Cyprus, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Ethiopia, Finland, Ghana, German Democratic Republic, Greece, Guatemala, Haiti, Holy See, Hungary, Iceland, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Jamaica, Jordan, Kenya,, Khmer Republic, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho. Liberia, Malagasy Republic, Malaysia, Maldive Republic, Mali, Malta, Mauritius, 'Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, Nepal, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Romania, San Marino, Senegal, Somalia, Swaziland, Sweden, Syria, Togo, Tonga, Tunisia, USSR, UK, USA, Upper Volta, Uraguay, Vietnam, Yugoslavia, Zaire.

(ii)   Afghanistan, Bulgaria, Byelorussian SSR, Canada, Republic of China, Cyprus, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Finland, German Democratic Republic, Hungary, Iceland, Iran, Ireland, Ivory Coast, Japan, Jordan, Laos, Malta, Mauritius, Mongolia, Morocco, Nepal, New Zealand, Niger, Norway, Poland, Swaziland, Sweden, Togo, Tunisia Ukraine SSR, USSR, UK, USA.

(1)   (b) Barbados, Belgium, Brazil, Byelorussian SSR, Czechoslovakia, Ecuador, Ghana, Guinea, Guyana, Hungary, Iraq, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Paraguay, Poland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine SSR, USSR, UAR, UK.

Suggest corrections