Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
TUCKEY, the Hon. Charles WilsonBiography for TUCKEY, the Hon. Charles Wilson

Member for O'Connor (WA) 1980-2010

Liberal Party of Australia

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for O'Connor, Western Australia, 1980, 1983, 1984, 1987, 1990, 1993, 1996, 1998, 2001, 2004 and 2007. Defeated at general elections 2010.

Parliamentary Appointments

Member, Advisory Council on Inter- government Relations 1979-80.

Ministerial Appointments

Minister for Forestry and Conservation from 21.10.98 to 26.11.01.

Minister Assisting the Prime Minister from 21.10.98 to 26.11.01.

Minister for Regional Services, Territories and Local Government from 25.1.02 to 7.10.03.

Committee Service

House of Representatives Standing: Aboriginal Affairs from 4.12.80 to 4.2.83; Road Safety from 4.12.80 to 4.2.83; Expenditure from 11.5.83 to 2.6.86; Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry from 2.12.03 to 17.10.07; Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs from 1.12.04 to 17.10.07; Privileges and Members' Interests from 11.3.08 to 19.7.10.

Joint Statutory: Public Works from 2.9.97 (Chair from 4.9.97) to 31.8.98.

Joint Standing: Treaties from 17.6.96 to 24.9.97.

Conferences, Delegations and Visits

Study tour, Taiwan, July 1983; USSR, September 1988; Japan, South Korea and Hong Kong, February 1992; Singapore, July 1993; Hong Kong, May 1995; South Africa, January 1997.

Member, 29th CPA Conference, Nairobi, October-November 1983; 38th CPA Conference, Nassau, The Bahamas, October 1992.

Member, Parliamentary Delegation to Mexico and Central America, July-August 1984.

Member, Parliamentary Delegation to Colombia, September-October 1992.

Member, Veterans' Affairs Delegation to Gallipoli, Turkey, April 1995.

Attended 8th Commonwealth Seminar, Hong Kong, May 1996.

Member, Parliamentary Delegation to USA and Venezuela, July 1997.

Official visits to Finland, the Netherlands, Canada and USA, July-August 1999; Oman and Malaysia, January 2000.

Member, Parliamentary Delegation to Belgium, the Netherlands and Norway, April-May 2006.

Member, Parliamentary Delegation to New Zealand, November 2009.

Parliamentary Party Positions

Member, Opposition Shadow Ministry from 14.12.84 to 28.10.89 and from 7.4.93 to 11.3.96.

Shadow Minister for Small Business and Administrative Services from 14.12.84 to 1.5.87; Housing and Small Business from 1.5.87 to 14.8.87 and from 12.5.89 to 28.10.89; Health from 14.8.87 to 16.9.88; Employment and Training from 16.9.88 to 12.5.89; Small Business from 7.4.93 to 26.5.94; Veterans' Affairs and Defence Science and Personnel from 26.5.94 to 11.3.96.

Deputy Manager of Opposition Business in the House from 16.9.88 to 12.5.89 and from 7.4.93 to 26.5.94.


Born 10.7.1935 at Perth, WA.


Qualifications and Occupation before entering Federal Parliament

Businessman; hotelier.

Local Government Service

Councillor, town of Carnarvon 1964; Mayor 1964-65. (The status of Carnarvon changed from town to shire in Feb. 1965).

Shire President 1965-69; Deputy President 1970-71, 1973-77 and 1979-80; Councillor 1969-70, 1971-73 and 1977-79.

Member, Executive Committee of Country Shire Councils' Association 1969-76; Deputy President 1976-78; President 1978-80.

Member, WA Local Government Grants Commission 1976-80.


Description: rural.

Location: south-west Western Australia; it includes the cities of Albany and Geraldton, and the towns of Boyup Brook, Carnamah, Corrigin, Dalwallinu, Denmark, Dongara, Dowerin, Hyden, Jurien, Jerramungup, Katanning, Kellerberrin, Kojonup, Koorda, Lake Grace, Mount Barker, Mingenew, Moora, Morawa, Mukinbudin, Ravensthorpe and Wagin.

Area: 179 047 sq km (approx.).

Electors enrolled: 84 455 (at 24.11.07).

Industries: grain, sheep, cattle, tree farming, fishing, aquaculture, vineyards and winemaking, talc and mineral sands mining, farmstays and tourism.

State electorates: O'Connor includes the Western Australian Legislative Assembly electorates of Albany and Geraldton, and parts of Avon, Greenough, Merredin, Moore, Roe, Stirling and Wagin.