Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
O'DWYER, the Hon. Kelly MeganBiography for O'DWYER, the Hon. Kelly Megan

Member for Higgins (Vic)

Liberal Party of Australia

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Higgins, Victoria at by-election 2009, vice the Hon. P Costello (resigned). Re-elected 2010, 2013 and 2016. Retired prior to general elections 2019.

Ministerial Appointments

Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer from 23.12.2014 to 21.9.2015.

Minister for Small Business from 21.9.2015 to 19.7.2016.

Assistant Treasurer from 21.9.2015 to 19.7.2016.

Cabinet Minister from 21.9.2015 to 29.5.2019.

Minister for Revenue and Financial Services from 19.7.2016 to 28.8.2018.

Minister for Women from 20.12.2017 to 29.5.2019.

Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Public Service from 20.12.2017 to 28.8.2018.

Minister for Jobs and Industrial Relations from 28.8.2018 to 29.5.2019.

Committee Service

Joint Select: Parliamentary Budget Office from 23.11.2010 to 23.3.2011.

House of Representatives Standing: Employment and Workplace Relations from 10.2.2010 to 19.7.2010; Legal and Constitutional Affairs from 10.2.2010 to 19.7.2010; Economics from 25.10.2010 to 12.2.2015 (Chair from 3.3.2014 to 12.2.2015).

Party Positions

Member of the Liberal Party Administrative Committee (Vic.), 2003.

Chairman of the Liberal Party Training Programs (Vic.), 2003.

Member of the Liberal Party Constitutional Committee (Vic.) from 2007 to 2009.

Other Positions

Convener of the Australia-Americas Network.

Co-Founder and Chairman of the Parliamentary Friendship Group of Women in Science, Maths and Engineering from 2012.

Chairman of the Australia-United States Parliamentary Friendship Group from 2014.


Born 31.3.1977, Box Hill, Australia


Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament

BA (University of Melbourne).

LLB(Hons) (University of Melbourne).

Lawyer at Freehills from 2001 to 2004.

Adviser to the Treasurer, the Hon. P Costello, MP from 2004 to 2005.

Senior Adviser to the Treasurer, the Hon. P Costello, MP from 2005 to 2007.

Executive at the National Australia Bank from 2007 to 2009.


Name: Higgins

Location: south-eastern Melbourne; it includes the suburbs of Armadale, Ashburton, Kooyong, Malvern, Malvern East, Prahran and Toorak, and parts of Carnegie, Glen Iris, Hughesdale, Murrumbeena, South Yarra and Windsor.

Area: 40 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 104,678 (at 2.7.2016)

Industries: mainly residential, with retail and commercial interests in a number of suburbs.