Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
DUTHIE, Gilbert William ArthurBiography for DUTHIE, Gilbert William Arthur

Member for Wilmot (Tas)

Australian Labor Party

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Wilmot, Tasmania, 1946. Re-elected 1949, 1951, 1954, 1955, 1958, 1961, 1963, 1966, 1969, 1972 and 1974. Defeated at general elections 1975.

Parliamentary Positions

Deputy Chairman of Committees from 1.3.1973 to 11.4.1974.

Committee Service

Joint Statutory: Broadcasting of Parliamentary Proceedings (formerly Broadcasting) from 1.3.1973 to 11.11.1975.

Joint Standing: Foreign Affairs and Defence from 16.5.1973 to 11.4.1974.

Joint Select: New and Permanent Parliament House from 5.10.1967 to 8.4.1970.

House of Representatives Standing: Parliamentary Library from 4.12.1946 to 4.11.1955; Standing Orders from 11.3.1964 to 11.4.1974.

House of Representatives Select: House of Representatives Accommodation from 9.10.1963 to 29.10.1963 (Deputy Chair from 10.10.1963 to 29.10.1963).

Conferences, Delegations and Visits

Member, Australian Delegations to the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association Conference, Ottawa, 1952.

Member, Australian Delegations to the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association Conference, Canberra, 1959.

Attended Commonwealth Parliamentary Association Seminar, London, 1970.

Parliamentary Party Positions

Opposition Whip in the House of Representatives from 13.2.1956 to 19.12.1972.

Party Positions

Delegate to the Australian Labor Party National Conference from 1949 to 1966.

Member of the Australian Labor Party Federal Executive from 1954 to 1957.

Member of the Australian Labor Party Federal Rural Committee from 1966.

Founding Secretary of the Australian Labor Party Rural Committee (Tas.) from 1966.

Other Positions

Secretary of the Australian Parliament Christian Fellowship from November 1968 to 1975.


Born 21.5.1912, Nhill, Australia

Died 13.6.1998



Name: Wilmot

Location: North, central, east, south-east and south-west of Tasmania; includes the towns of Sheffield, Latrobe, East Devonport, Deloraine, Beaconsfield, Longford, Campbell Town, Evandale, St Marys, Swansea, Triabunna, Port Arthur, Richmond, Oatlands, New Norfolk, Strathgordon, Hamilton and Bothwell.

Area: 32,779 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 48,676 (at 25.10.1974)

Industries: Timber logging and milling, wood chip production, pulp and paper production, wool, dairying, pig raising, fat lambs, beef cattle, wheat, oats, barley, hops, apples, pears, small fruits, peas(green, blue and grey), grass hay, Beans, poppy growing, cement production, quarrying, carpet manufacturing, fishing, food processing, extensive hydro-electric power generation (19 stations), coal and other mining activities.

Includes: Wilmot is co-extensive with the Tasmanian House of Assembly electorates of the same name.