Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
SYMON, Michael (Mike) StuartBiography for SYMON, Michael (Mike) Stuart

Member for Deakin (Vic)

Australian Labor Party

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Deakin, Victoria, 2007. Re-elected 2010. Defeated at general elections 2013.

Parliamentary Positions

Member, Speaker's Panel from 7.2.12 to 5.8.13

Committee Service

Joint Standing: National Broadband Network from 22.3.2011 to 8.5.2013; Treaties from 6.2.2013 to 8.5.2013.

House of Representatives Standing: Employment and Workplace Relations from 11.3.2008 to 19.7.2010; Industry, Science and Innovation from 11.3.2008 to 19.7.2010; Education and Training from 17.6.2009 to 19.7.2010; Education and Employment from 25.10.2010 to 8.5.2013; Infrastructure and Communications from 25.10.2010 to 8.5.2013; Petitions from 25.10.2010 to 8.5.2013; Privileges and Members' Interests from 25.10.2010 to 8.5.2013; Social Policy and Legal Affairs from 7.2.2012 to 14.8.2012.

Conferences Delegations and Visits

Member, Parliamentary Delegation to Singapore, January 2010

Member, Parliamentary Delegation to Cambodia, September 2011

Party Positions

Delegate, ALP State Conference from 1998

Member, ALP Public Office Selection Committee from 2003

Member, ALP Industrial Affairs Policy Committee from 2003

Secretary, ALP Industrial Affairs Policy Committee from 2005-06

President, ALP Ringwood Branch 2005

Secretary, ALP Ringwood Branch from 2006


Born 21.2.1965, Box Hill, Australia


Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament

Diploma of Occupational Health and Safety (CFMEU Training Unit, Melbourne)

Licensed electrician (Box Hill TAFE)

Union official

Campaign officer


Description: Outer Metropolitan

Location: eastern Melbourne; it includes the suburbs of Bayswater North, Blackburn, Blackburn North, Blackburn South, Burwood East, Croydon, Croydon South, Forest Hill, Heathmont, Mitcham, Nunawading, Ringwood, Ringwood East, Ringwood North and Vermont.

Area: 61 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 87744 (at 21.8.2010)

Industries: light manufacturing, commercial and retail industries.

Electorate: Deakin includes parts of the Victorian Legislative Assembly electorates of Bayswater, Forest Hill, Kilsyth, Mitcham and Warrandyte.