Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
TRUSS, the Hon. Warren ErrolBiography for TRUSS, the Hon. Warren Errol

Member for Wide Bay (Qld)

The Nationals

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Wide Bay, Queensland, 1990. Re-elected 1993, 1996, 1998, 2001, 2004, 2007, 2010 and 2013. Retired prior to general elections 2016.

Parliamentary Positions

Deputy Chair of Committees from 12.9.1991 to 21.2.1994.

Member of the Speaker's Panel from 21.2.1994 to 31.1.1995.

Member of the Speaker's Panel from 1.5.1996 to 20.10.1997.

Ministerial Appointments

Minister for Customs and Consumer Affairs from 9.10.1997 to 21.10.1998.

Minister for Community Services from 21.10.1998 to 20.7.1999.

Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry from 20.7.1999 to 6.7.2005.

Cabinet Minister from 20.7.1999 to 3.12.2007.

Minister for Transport and Regional Services from 6.7.2005 to 29.9.2006.

Minister for Trade from 29.9.2006 to 3.12.2007.

Deputy Prime Minister from 18.9.2013 to 18.2.2016.

Cabinet Minister from 18.9.2013 to 18.2.2016.

Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development from 18.9.2013 to 18.2.2016.

Committee Service

Joint Statutory: Law Enforcement (formerly National Crime Authority from 15.6.1984 to 1.1.2003 and Australian Crime Commission from 1.1.2003 to 24.11.2010) from 18.6.1996 to 23.10.1997.

Joint Standing: Treaties from 17.6.1996 to 23.10.1997; Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 3.2.2010 to 22.2.2010.

House of Representatives Standing: Parliamentary Library from 16.5.1990 to 8.2.1993; Procedure from 16.5.1990 to 8.2.1993; Environment, Recreation and the Arts from 16.5.1990 to 22.10.1997 (Chair from 30.5.1996 to 22.10.1997); Long Term Strategies from 26.5.1993 to 29.1.1996; Procedure from 29.5.1996 to 30.10.1997.

Parliamentary Party Positions

Deputy Leader of the House from 5.10.1997 to 21.10.1998.

Deputy Leader of the Federal Parliamentary Nationals from 23.6.2005 to 3.12.2007.

Leader of the Federal Parliamentary Nationals from 3.12.2007 to 11.2.2016.

Shadow Minister for Consumer Affairs from 13.12.1994 to 11.3.1996.

Shadow Minister for Infrastructure, Transport and Local Government from 6.12.2007 to 22.9.2008.

Shadow Minister for Trade, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government from 22.9.2008 to 25.3.2010.

Shadow Minister for Trade, Transport and Local Government from 25.3.2010 to 14.9.2010.

Shadow Minister for Infrastructure and Transport from 14.9.2010 to 18.9.2013.

Party Positions

President of the National Party Kumbia Branch from 1974 to 1987.

Vice-President of the National Party Barambah State Electorate Council from 1978 to 1988.

Member of the National Party Central Council (Qld.) from 1981 to 2008.

President of the National Party Wide Bay Division Council from 1984 to 1990.


Born 8.10.1948, Kingroy, Australia


Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament


President of the Australian Council of Rural Youth from 1973 to 1974.

Member of the Graingrowers' Association Council (Qld) from 1979 to 1990.

Chair of the Sugar Coast Burnett Regional Tourism Board from 1985 to 1989.

Deputy Chair of Bulk Grains (Qld) from 1985 to 1990.

Local Government Service

Member, Kingaroy Shire Council from 1976 to 1990.

Chair, Kingaroy Shire Council from 1983 to 1990.

President, South Burnett Local Government Association from 1984 to 1985.

President, South Burnett Local Government Association from 1989 to 1990.

President, Burnett District Local Government Association from 1989 to 1990.


Name: Wide Bay

Location: southern eastern Queensland coast and hinterland; it includes the centres of Gympie, Maryborough, Murgon and Noosa Heads. It also includes Fraser Island.

Area: 14,573 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 95,172 (at 7.9.2013)

Industries: tourism, timber, dairying, grain, grazing, sugar, tropical fruit orchards and railway rolling stock.

Includes: Wide Bay includes the Queensland Legislative Assembly electorate of Gympie, and parts of Callide, Hervey Bay, Maryborough, Nicklin and Noosa.