Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
STONE, the Hon. Dr Sharman NancyBiography for STONE, the Hon. Dr Sharman Nancy

Member for Murray (Vic)

Liberal Party of Australia

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Murray, Victoria, 1996. Re-elected 1998, 2001, 2004, 2007, 2010 and 2013. Retired prior to general elections 2016.

Ministerial Appointments

Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for the Environment and Heritage from 21.10.1998 to 26.10.2004.

Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Finance and Administration from 26.10.2004 to 27.1.2006.

Minister for Workforce Participation from 27.1.2006 to 3.12.2007.

Committee Service

Joint Statutory: Public Accounts from 29.5.1996 to 1.1.1998; Public Accounts and Audit from 1.1.1998 to 31.8.1998; Public Accounts and Audit from 4.12.2013 to 25.2.2014.

Joint Standing: Migration from 10.11.2008 to 3.2.2010; Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 4.12.2013 to 9.5.2016 (Chair, Foreign Affairs and Aid Sub-Committee from 12.12.2013 to 9.5.2016); Treaties from 25.2.2014 to 11.11.2015.

House of Representatives Standing: Primary Industries, Resources and Rural and Regional Affairs from 29.5.1996 to 31.8.1998; Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs from 4.6.1997 to 31.8.1998; Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs from 11.3.2008 to 10.11.2008; Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government from 17.3.2008 to 10.11.2008; Education and Training from 3.2.2010 to 19.7.2010; Regional Australia from 16.11.2010 to 25.8.2011; Social Policy and Legal Affairs from 4.12.2013 to 22.10.2015; Indigenous Affairs from 4.12.2013 to 9.5.2016 (Chair from 11.2.2014 to 9.5.2016); Education and Employment from 9.9.2015 to 11.11.2015.

Parliamentary Party Positions

Member of the Opposition Shadow Ministry from 6.12.2007 to 14.9.2010.

Shadow Minister for the Environment, Heritage, the Arts and Indigenous Affairs from 6.12.2007 to 22.9.2008.

Shadow Minister for Immigration and Citizenship from 22.9.2008 to 8.12.2009.

Shadow Minister for Early Childhood Education and Childcare from 8.12.2009 to 14.9.2010.

Shadow Minister for the Status of Women from 8.12.2009 to 14.9.2010.

Party Positions

President, Burwood Liberal Party Women's Section and member of various policy committees

Chair, Coalition Policy Committee on Agriculture

Member, Victorian Rural and Regional Standing Committee

Other Positions

Government Representative on the Council for Aboriginal Reconciliation 1997-2000


Born 23.4.1951, Pyramid Hill, Australia

Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament

B.A (Anthropology) (Hons) (Monash)

Ph.D (Sociology) (Monash)

M.A (Economics & Business) (La Trobe)

Grad.Dip.Tert.Ed (Hawthorn CAE)

Community Development Officer, Westernport Regional Council for Social Development 1976-78

Lecturer, Institute of Early Childhood Development, University of Melbourne 1977-82

Curriculum Development & Prison Liaison Officer, Victorian Aboriginal Education Service 1984-84

Regional Assistant Manager, Victorian Office of Corrections, Southern Metropolitan Region 1985-86

Manager, Community Engagement & Victorian Salinity Program, Victorian Ministry of Planning & Environment 1986-87

Manager, Consumer Policy, Rural Water Corporation of Victoria 1987-89

Member, Governing Council, La Trobe University 1987-93

Director, Communications, Victoria Department of Agriculture 1989-90

Director, Social Policy & Communications Victorian Farmers Federation 1990-91

Member, Governing Council, La Trobe University 1991-93

Pricing & Water Conservation Consultant, Melbourne Water 1991

Manager, International Development, University of Melbourne 1994-95


Description: Rural

Location: Northern Victoria; it includes the towns of Shepparton and Echuca and centres of Avenel, Boort, Bridgewater, Cobram, Euroa, Kyabram, Mooroopna, Murchison, Nagambie, Nathalia, Numurkah, Rochester, Rushworth, Tatura, Violet Town, Wedderburn and Yarrawonga.

Area: 19500 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 100185 (at 7.9.2013)

Industries: sheep, wheat, dairy, viticulture and fruit processing industries.

Electorate: Murray includes the Victorian Legislative Assembly electorate of Shepparton, and parts of Bendigo East, Euroa, Murray Valley, Ovens Valley and Swan Hill.