Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
MORRISON, the Hon. Scott JohnBiography for MORRISON, the Hon. Scott John

Member for Cook (NSW)

Liberal Party of Australia

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Cook, New South Wales, 2007. Re-elected 2010, 2013, 2016, 2019 and 2022.

Ministerial Appointments

Minister for Immigration and Border Protection from 18.9.2013 to 23.12.2014.

Cabinet Minister from 18.9.2013 to 23.5.2022.

Minister for Social Services from 23.12.2014 to 21.9.2015.

Treasurer from 21.9.2015 to 28.8.2018.

Prime Minister from 24.8.2018 to 23.5.2022.

Minister for the Public Service from 29.5.2019 to 8.10.2021.

Committee Service

Joint Statutory: Public Accounts and Audit from 11.3.2008 to 25.9.2008.

Joint Standing: Electoral Matters from 11.3.2008 to 3.2.2010; Migration from 3.2.2010 to 10.2.2010.

Joint Select: Australia's Immigration Detention Network from 21.6.2011 to 30.3.2012.

House of Representatives Standing: Health and Ageing from 11.3.2008 to 25.9.2008; Family, Community, Housing and Youth from 25.9.2008 to 30.11.2009; Economics from 11.8.2009 to 3.2.2010.

House of Representatives Select: Address in Reply from 2.7.2019 to 4.7.2019.

Parliamentary Party Positions

Leader of the Federal Parliamentary Liberal Party from 24.8.2018 to 21.5.2022.

Shadow Minister for Housing and Local Government from 22.9.2008 to 8.12.2009.

Shadow Minister for Immigration and Citizenship from 8.12.2009 to 18.9.2013.

Shadow Minister for Productivity and Population from 14.9.2010 to 18.9.2013.

Party Positions

Director of the Liberal Party State Branch (NSW) from 2000 to 2004.


Born 13.5.1968, Sydney, Australia


Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament

BSc(Hons) (University of New South Wales).

Manager of the Policy and Research Property Council of Australia from 1989 to 1995.

Deputy Chief Executive of the Australian Tourism Task Force from 1995 to 1996.

General Manager of the Tourism Council from 1996 to 1998.

Director of the Office of Tourism and Sport (NZ) from 1998 to 2000.

Director of the Liberal Party (NSW) from 2000 to 2004.

Managing Director of Tourism Australia from 2004 to 2006.

Principal at MSAS Pty. Ltd. from 2006 to 2007.


Name: Cook

Location: Cook covers an area from Kurnell and Cronulla in the east to Sylvania and Gymea Bay in the west and from Kyle Bay, Monterey and Botany Bay in the north to Dents Creek and Hacking River in the south. Suburbs include Monterey, Beverley Park, Blakehurst, Burraneer, Caringbah, Carss Park, Cronulla, Greenhills Beach, Gymea, Gymea Bay, Kyle Bay, Kurnell, Lilli Pilli, Miranda, Sandringham, Sans Souci, Sylvania, Sylvania Waters, Taren Point and Yowie Bay.

Area: 94 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 106,957 (at 27.6.2019)

Industries: Port and berthing facilities, boat building, steel fabrication, pharmaceutical plant, oyster farming, retail and service industries