Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
OWENS, Julie AnnBiography for OWENS, Julie Ann

Member for Parramatta (NSW)

Australian Labor Party

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Parramatta, New South Wales, 2004. Re-elected 2007, 2010, 2013, 2016 and 2019. Retired prior to general elections 2022.

Parliamentary Positions

Member of the Speaker's Panel from 24.5.2012 to 5.8.2013.

Member of the Speaker's Panel from 24.8.2020 to 11.4.2022.

Committee Service

Joint Statutory: Corporations and Financial Services from 18.2.2008 to 19.7.2010; Corporations and Financial Services from 4.12.2013 to 9.5.2016; Public Works from 25.2.2021 to 11.4.2022.

House of Representatives Standing: Communications, Information Technology and the Arts from 2.12.2004 to 17.10.2007 (Deputy Chair from 2.12.2004 to 17.10.2007); Economics from 19.2.2008 to 27.6.2013; Procedure from 19.2.2008 to 5.8.2013; Publications from 25.10.2010 to 5.8.2013; Appropriations and Administration from 4.12.2013 to 9.5.2016; Education and Employment from 4.12.2013 to 9.5.2016; Tax and Revenue from 15.9.2016 to 11.4.2022 (Deputy Chair from 25.7.2019 to 11.4.2022); Appropriations and Administration from 15.9.2016 to 11.4.2022 (Deputy Chair from 22.7.2019 to 11.4.2022).

Parliamentary Party Positions

Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Education from 18.10.2013 to 13.10.2015.

Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Small Business from 18.10.2013 to 23.7.2016.

Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Early Childhood Education from 13.10.2015 to 23.7.2016.

Shadow Assistant Minister for Small Business from 23.7.2016 to 2.6.2019.

Shadow Assistant Minister for Citizenship and Multicultural Australia from 23.7.2016 to 2.6.2019.


Born 17.10.1958, Rockhampton, Australia


Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament

MBA (University of Sydney).

BA (Queensland Conservatorium of Music).

Production Manager at the Lyric Opera of Queensland from 1985 to 1989.

Senior Program Officer at the Australia Council from 1989 to 1993.

Small business owner from 1994 to 2000.

Chief Executive Officer of the Association of Independent Record Labels from 2000 to 2004.


Name: Parramatta

Location: Parramatta covers an area from Carlingford (part) and Rydalmere in the east to Toongabbie and South Wentworthville in the west. The main suburbs include Carlingford (part), Constitution Hill, Dundas, Granville, Harris Park, Holroyd, Merrylands, Mays Hill, Oatlands, Old Toongabbie, Parramatta, Pendle Hill, Rosehill, Rydalmere, Telopea, Toongabbie, South Wentworthville, Wentworthville and Westmead.

Area: 57 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 103,122 (at 11.6.2019)

Industries: Retail, financial services, transport industry, building materials, major industry, tourism and higher education with the Western Sydney University's Parramatta campus.