Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
JENSEN, Dr Dennis GeoffreyBiography for JENSEN, Dr Dennis Geoffrey

Member for Tangney (WA)


Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Tangney, Western Australia, 2004. Re-elected 2007, 2010 and 2013. Defeated at general elections 2016.

Committee Service

Joint Statutory: Public Accounts and Audit from 29.5.2006 to 17.10.2007.

Joint Standing: Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 25.10.2010 to 9.5.2016; Treaties from 4.12.2013 to 22.10.2015.

House of Representatives Standing: Science and Innovation from 1.12.2004 to 17.10.2007; Transport and Regional Services from 1.12.2004 to 17.10.2007; Education and Training from 11.3.2008 to 19.7.2010; Industry, Science and Innovation from 11.3.2008 to 19.7.2010; Petitions from 25.10.2010 to 9.5.2016 (Chair from 12.12.2013 to 9.5.2016).

Party Positions

Member, Liberal Party Geelong Branch 1997-2000

Vice-President, Liberal Party Brand Division 2003-04

Member, Liberal Party Willetton Branch 2004-09

Member, Liberal Party Booragoon Branch from 2009


Born 28.2.1962, Johannesburg, South Africa


Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament

B.App.Sc (RMIT)

M.Sc (Melb)

Ph.D (Monash)

Air traffic controller 1983-86

Research scientist, CSIRO 1995-99

Research scientist and defence analyst 1999-2004


Description: Inner Metropolitan

Location: southern Perth; it includes the suburbs of Applecross, Alfred Cove, Ardross, Attadale, Bateman, Booragoon, Bull Creek, Canning Vale, Leeming, Melville, Mount Pleasant, Murdoch, Myaree, Parkwood, Riverton, Rossmoyne, Shelley, Willetton and Winthrop, and parts of Kardinya.

Area: 96 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 94809 (at 7.9.2013)

Industries: light industry, retail and service industries.

Electorate: Tangney includes parts of the Western Australian Legislative Assembly electorates of Alfred Cove, Bateman, Jandakot, Riverton, Southern River and Willagee.