Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
HOCKEY, the Hon. Joseph (Joe) BenedictBiography for HOCKEY, the Hon. Joseph (Joe) Benedict

Member for North Sydney (NSW)

Liberal Party of Australia

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for North Sydney, New South Wales, 1996. Re-elected 1998, 2001, 2004, 2007, 2010 and 2013. Resigned 23.10.2015.

Ministerial Appointments

Minister for Financial Services and Regulation from 21.10.1998 to 26.11.2001.

Minister for Small Business and Tourism from 26.11.2001 to 26.10.2004.

Minister for Human Services from 26.10.2004 to 30.1.2007.

Minister Assisting the Minister for Workplace Relations from 10.8.2006 to 30.1.2007.

Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations from 30.1.2007 to 3.12.2007.

Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Public Service from 30.1.2007 to 3.12.2007.

Cabinet Minister from 30.1.2007 to 3.12.2007.

Cabinet Minister from 18.9.2013 to 21.9.2015.

Treasurer from 18.9.2013 to 21.9.2015.

Committee Service

House of Representatives Standing: Financial Institutions and Public Administration served from 29.5.1996 to 31.8.1998; Environment, Recreation and the Arts served from 30.5.1996 to 31.8.1998; Economics served from 10.11.2008 to 11.8.2009

Parliamentary Party Positions

Shadow Minister for Health and Ageing from 6.12.2007 to 22.9.2008.

Manager of Opposition Business in the House from 12.2.2008 to 20.2.2009.

Shadow Minister for Finance, Competition Policy and Deregulation from 22.9.2008 to 20.2.2009.

Shadow Treasurer from 20.2.2009 to 18.9.2013.

Party Positions

President of the Young Liberal Movement (NSW).

Other Positions

President of the University of Sydney Students' Representative Council from 1986 to 1987.

Chair of the Sydney Airport Community Forum from 1996 to 1998.


Born: 2.8.1965, Sydney, Australia

Gender: Male

Marital Status: Married

Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament

BA (University of Sydney).

LLB (University of Sydney).

Director of Policy to the Premier (NSW).

Banking and finance lawyer for Corrs Chambers Westgarth.


Name: North Sydney

Location: central and lower northern Sydney; it includes the suburbs of Artarmon, Castle Cove, Cammeray, Castlecrag, Crows Nest, Greenwich, Henley, Hunters Hill, Huntleys Point, Kirribilli, Lane Cove, Lane Cove North, Lane Cove West, Lavender Bay, Linley Point, Longueville, McMahons Point, Milsons Point, Naremburn, North Willoughby, Northbridge, North Sydney, Northwood, Riverview, St Leonards, Waverton, Willoughby, Willoughby East, Wollstonecraft, Woolwich and parts of Chatswood, Chatswood West, Cremorne, Gladesville and Neutral Bay.

Area: 48 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 101,333 (at 7.9.2013)

Industries: communications, property and business services, and wholesale and retail industries.

Includes: North Sydney includes parts of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly electorates of Davidson, Lane Cove, North Shore and Willoughby.