Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
ADAMS, Dick Godfrey HarryBiography for ADAMS, Dick Godfrey Harry

Member for Lyons (Tas)

Australian Labor Party

Parliamentary Service

State: Elected to the Tasmanian House of Assembly for Franklin 1979. Defeated at general elections 1982.

Federal: Elected to the House of Representatives for Lyons, Tasmania, 1993. Re-elected 1996, 1998, 2001, 2004, 2007 and 2010. Defeated at general elections 2013.

Parliamentary Appointments

Parliamentary Representative, Council of the National Library of Australia from 13.5.11 to 5.8.13

Parliamentary Positions

Member, Speaker's Panel from 7.5.96 to 5.8.13

Committee Service

Joint Statutory: Broadcasting of Parliamentary Proceedings from 30.5.1996 to 11.2.2002; Public Accounts and Audit from 17.8.2009 to 5.8.2013.

Joint Standing: Treaties from 17.6.1996 to 17.10.2007; Migration from 12.8.1999 to 11.2.2002; Parliamentary Library from 27.3.2006 to 5.8.2013 (Joint Chair from 21.6.2006 to 5.8.2013); National Capital and External Territories from 18.2.2008 to 5.8.2013; Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 28.3.2011 to 5.8.2013.

Joint Select: Republic Referendum from 9.6.1999 to 9.8.1999.

House of Representatives Standing: Employment, Education and Training from 12.5.1993 to 29.1.1996; Transport, Communications and Infrastructure from 12.5.1993 to 29.1.1996; Long Term Strategies from 26.5.1993 to 29.1.1996; Library from 29.5.1996 to 7.12.2005; Primary Industries, Resources and Rural and Regional Affairs from 8.12.1998 to 8.10.2001; Primary Industries and Regional Services from 8.12.1998 to 8.10.2001; Publications from 20.3.2002 to 17.10.2007; Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry from 20.3.2002 to 17.10.2007; Industry and Resources from 20.3.2002 to 17.10.2007; Petitions from 19.2.2008 to 5.8.2013; Primary Industries and Resources from 19.2.2008 to 19.7.2010; Agriculture, Resources, Fisheries and Forestry from 25.10.2010 to 7.9.2013 (Chair from 27.10.2010 to 7.9.2013).

House of Representatives Select: Recent Australian Bushfires from 27.3.2003 to 5.11.2003.

Conferences Delegations and Visits

Member, Parliamentary Delegation to 14th AIPO General Assembly, Malaysia and bilateral visits to the Philippines and Brunei, from September-October 1993

Member, Parliamentary Delegation to New Zealand, June 1997

Member, Parliamentary Delegation to the AIPO General Assembly, Nusa Dua, Bali, and bilateral visits to Thailand and Laos, September 1997

Member, Joint Standing Committee on Treaties visit to New Zealand, March 2000

Member, Parliamentary Delegation to Hungary and Poland, October 2000

Member, Parliamentary Delegation to Iran and Jordan, October-November 2002

Member, Parliamentary Delegation to East Timor and Indonesia, September 2003

Member, Parliamentary Delegation to Chile and Peru, November 2006

Member, Parliamentary Delegation to Canada and Mexico, April-May 2009

Member, Parliamentary Delegation to New Zealand, August 2009

Member, Parliamentary Delegation to Brazil and Panama, April 2011

Member, Parliamentary Delegation to Switzerland, Germany and Austria, October 2011

Member, Parliamentary Delegation to Uganda and Kazakhstan, March-April 2012

Party Positions

Delegate, ALP National Conference

Member, various state and federal committees

Member, ALP from 1970

Honorary State Secretary, ALP (Tas.) 1980


Born 29.4.1951, Launceston, Australia

Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament

Meat worker and rural worker

Union organiser, Australian Meat Industries Employees' Union

Union organiser, Liquor and Hospitality and Miscellaneous Workers' Union, Miscellaneous Division

Small business: milkman

MHA, Tasmania

Local Government Service

Elected to the Tasmanian House of Assembly for Franklin 1979. Defeated at general elections 1982.

Chairman of Committees and Deputy Speaker from 1980 to 1981.

Minister for National Parks, Lands, Aged Persons and Community Welfare from 13.10.1981 to 26.5.1982.


Description: Rural

Location: the greater part of rural Tasmania; it includes the towns of Beaconsfield, Bothwell, Bridgewater, Brighton, Campbell Town, Deloraine, Dodges Ferry, Evandale, Exeter, Gagebrook, Longford, Midway Point, New Norfolk, Perth, Port Sorell, St Helens, Sheffield, Sorell and Westbury.

Area: 32910 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 72865 (at 21.8.2010)

Industries: Fishing, forestry, wool, cattle (dairy and beef), fruit, wine, hydro-power generation, mining and tourism.

Electorate: Lyons is co-extensive with the Tasmanian House of Assembly electorate of the same name.