Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
HODGMAN, the Hon. William (Michael), QCBiography for HODGMAN, the Hon. William (Michael), QC

Member for Denison (Tas)

Liberal Party of Australia

Parliamentary Service

State: Elected to the Tasmanian Legislative Council for Huon, 1966. Resigned 25.5.1974 to contest the House of Representatives division of Denison, Tasmania.

Federal: Elected to the House of Representatives for Denison, Tasmania, 1975. Re-elected 1977, 1980, 1983 and 1984. Defeated at general elections 1987.

Ministerial Appointments

Minister for the Capital Territory from 3.11.1980 to 11.3.1983.

Minister Assisting the Minister for Industry and Commerce from 3.11.1980 to 11.3.1983.

Committee Service

Joint Standing: New Parliament House from 4.12.1980 to 4.2.1983.

House of Representatives Standing: Privileges from 3.3.1976 to 19.9.1980; Privileges from 11.5.1983 to 5.6.1987; Procedure from 28.2.1985 to 5.6.1987.

Conferences Delegations and Visits

Member, Commonwealth Parliamentary Delegation to the Australian Constitutional Convention, Perth, July 1978

Member, 66th IPU Conference, Caracas, September 1979

Parliamentary Party Positions

Member of the Opposition Shadow Ministry from 16.3.1983 to 9.9.1985.

Opposition Spokesman on Immigration and Ethnic Affairs from 16.3.1983 to 14.12.1984.

Opposition Spokesman on Housing and Construction from 14.12.1984 to 9.9.1985.

Other Positions

Convenor, Tasmanian Constitutional League

Honorary legal adviser AJA (Tas)

Tasmanian Racing Committee Member from 1965

Vice-President, Tasmanian Bar Association, 1972-74

Tasmanian Racing Committee Vice-Chairman from 1979

Appointed Queen's Counsel, February 1984


Born 16.11.1938, Hobart, Australia

Died 19.6.2013

Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament

LL.B (Tas)


Military Service

RANR-Royal Australian Naval Reserve


Location: Following the 1984 Federal redistribution includes the city of Hobart, the centres of Elwick, Glenorchy, Moonah, Mt Nelson, New Town, Queenborough and Sandy Bay, and parts of Claremont, New Norfolk and Taroona.

Area: 188 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 60285 (at 1.12.1984)

Industries: Light engineering, zinc production, fruit processing, brewery, port facilities, commercial and administrative.

Electorate: Denison is co-extensive with the Tasmanian House of Assembly electorate of the same name.