Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
CAMERON, Ian Milne DixonBiography for CAMERON, Ian Milne Dixon

Member for Maranoa (Qld)

National Party of Australia

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Maranoa, Queensland, 1980. Re-elected 1983, 1984 and 1987. Retired prior to general elections 1990.

Committee Service

House of Representatives Standing: Publications from 26.11.1980 to 4.2.1983; Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs (Aboriginal Affairs before 4.5.1992) from 8.9.1982 to 19.2.1990; Expenditure from 11.5.1983 to 8.12.1983.

House of Representatives Select: Aboriginal Education from 22.3.1985 to 26.11.1985.

Conferences, Delegations and Visits

Member, Parliamentary Exchange Visit to New Zealand, March-April 1982.

Member, 29th CPA Conference, Nairobi, October-November 1983.

Member, 32nd CPA Conference, London, September-October 1986.

Parliamentary Party Positions

Opposition Spokesman on Local Government from 14.8.1987 to 14.3.1988.

Party Positions

President of the Young Country Party (Qld.) from 1967 to 1968.

Member of the National Party Management Committee from 1976 to 1980.

Other Positions

Deputy Chairman of the Australian/USSR Parliamentary Group from 1989.


Born 8.3.1938, Melbourne, Australia

Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament

Farmer and grazier.

Local Government Service

Councillor, Tara Shire from 1971 to 1980.


Name: Maranoa

Location: South-western Queensland; following the 1984 Federal redistribution includes the towns of Birdsville, Blackwater, Charleville, Chinchilla, Cunnamulla, Dalby, Emerald, Goondiwindi, Miles, Roma, St George, Tambo, Taroom and Thargomindah.

Area: 625,200 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 71,814 (at 11.7.1987)

Industries: Dairying, wool growing, pork, beef cattle, wheat and mixed grains, tobacco, cotton, stone and pome fruits, grapes, wine growing, agricultural implement manufacture, coal mining, and production of oil and natural gas from the Roma and Moonie fields.

Includes: Maranoa includes the Queensland Legislative Assembly electorates of Balonne, Carnarvon, Condamine and Roma, and parts of Auburn, Barambah, Cunningham, Gregory, Peak Downs, Warrego and Warwick.