Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
JONES, Stephen PatrickBiography for JONES, Stephen Patrick

Member for Whitlam (NSW)

Australian Labor Party

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Throsby, New South Wales, 2010. Re-elected 2013. Elected to the House of Representatives for Whitlam, New South Wales, following electoral redistribution, 2016. Re-elected 2019.

Committee Service

Joint Standing: National Broadband Network from 30.11.2016 to 1.7.2019.

Joint Select: Constitutional Recognition of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples (2015) from 4.12.2013 to 25.6.2015.

House of Representatives Standing: Economics from 25.10.2010 to 5.8.2013; Infrastructure and Communications from 25.10.2010 to 26.3.2014; Tax and Revenue from 4.12.2013 to 18.3.2014; Health from 18.4.2014 to 9.5.2016.

House of Representatives Select: Regional Development and Decentralisation from 13.6.2017 to 28.6.2018.

Parliamentary Party Positions

Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Regional Development and Infrastructure from 18.10.2013 to 4.3.2014.

Shadow Assistant Minister for Health from 4.3.2014 to 23.7.2016.

Shadow Minister for Regional Communications from 4.5.2016 to 2.6.2019.

Shadow Minister for Regional Services, Territories and Local Government from 23.7.2016 to 2.6.2019.

Shadow Assistant Treasurer from 2.6.2019.

Shadow Minister for Financial Services from 2.6.2019.


Born 29.6.1965, Sydney, Australia


Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament

BA (University of Wollongong).

LLB (Macquarie University).

Research officer, Australian Quadriplegic Association.

Disability support worker and youth worker 1985-91.

Various positions incl. NSW Branch Secretary and Communications Division Secretary, Community and Public Sector Union 1993-2004.

Lawyer, Australian Council of Trade Unions 2004-05.

National Secretary, Community and Public Sector Union 2005-10.


Name: Whitlam

Location: Whitlam covers an area from Fitzroy Falls, Robertson and Dunmore in the south to Lake Avon, Alpine, Welby, Kembla Grange and Primbee in the north. In the east follows the coast from Primbee to Shell Cove and in the west Sutton Forest and Werai (part). The main localities include Alpine, Berrima, Bowral, Dapto, Dunmore, Fitzroy Falls, Kembla Grange, Mittagong, Moss Vale, Primbee, Robertson, Shellharbour, Sutton Forest, Unanderra, Welby and Werai (part).

Area: 1,331 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 118,695 (at 20.6.2019)

Industries: Mining, engineering, light and heavy manufacturing, transport, tourism, construction, dairy farming and retail industries.