Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
PYNE, the Hon. Christopher MauriceBiography for PYNE, the Hon. Christopher Maurice

Member for Sturt (SA)

Liberal Party of Australia

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Sturt, South Australia, 1993. Re-elected 1996, 1998, 2001, 2004, 2007, 2010, 2013 and 2016. Retired at the expiration of term, 2019.

Ministerial Appointments

Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Family and Community Services from 7.10.2003 to 26.10.2004.

Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Health and Ageing from 26.10.2004 to 30.1.2007.

Assistant Minister for Health and Ageing from 30.1.2007 to 21.3.2007.

Minister for Ageing from 21.3.2007 to 3.12.2007.

Minister for Education from 18.9.2013 to 23.12.2014.

Cabinet Minister from 18.9.2013 to 11.4.2019.

Minister for Education and Training from 23.12.2014 to 21.9.2015.

Minister for Industry, Innovation and Science from 21.9.2015 to 19.7.2016.

Minister for Defence Industry from 19.7.2016 to 28.8.2018.

Minister for Defence from 28.8.2018 to 11.4.2019.

Committee Service

Joint Statutory: Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity from 11.3.2008 to 25.9.2008; Australian Crime Commission from 11.3.2008 to 25.9.2008.

Joint Standing: Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 8.12.1998 to 11.2.2002; Electoral Matters from 6.11.2000 to 11.2.2002 (Chair from 6.11.2000 to 11.2.2002).

Joint Select: Republic Referendum from 2.6.1999 to 9.8.1999; Parliamentary Budget Office from 23.11.2010 to 23.3.2011.

House of Representatives Standing: Transport, Communications and Infrastructure from 12.5.1993 to 29.1.1996; Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs from 12.5.1993 to 31.5.1994; Legal and Constitutional Affairs from 10.5.1994 to 29.1.1996; Financial Institutions and Public Administration from 29.5.1996 to 31.8.1998; Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs from 29.5.1996 to 4.6.1997; Employment, Education and Training from 30.5.1996 to 31.8.1998; Procedure from 8.12.1998 to 6.11.2000 (Chair from 10.12.1998 to 6.11.2000); Economics, Finance and Public Administration from 8.12.1998 to 18.6.2002; Communications, Information Technology and the Arts from 20.3.2002 to 4.11.2003 (Chair from 20.3.2002 to 4.11.2003).

Parliamentary Party Positions

Shadow Parliamentary Secretary to the Shadow Minister for Social Security from 26.5.1994 to 11.3.1996.

Member of the Opposition Shadow Ministry from 6.12.2007 to 18.9.2013.

Shadow Minister for Justice and Border Protection from 6.12.2007 to 22.9.2008.

Shadow Minister Assisting the Shadow Minister for Immigration and Citizenship from 6.12.2007 to 22.9.2008.

Shadow Minister for Education, Apprenticeships and Training from 22.9.2008 to 18.9.2013.

Manager of Opposition Business in the House from 16.2.2009 to 5.8.2013.

Leader of the House from 12.11.2013 to 11.4.2019.

Party Positions

Member of the Liberal Party Campaign Committee (SA).

Member of the Liberal Party Policy Committee (SA).

Member of the Liberal Party Federal Advisory Committee on Electoral Matters.

President of the Young Liberals (SA) from 1988 to 1990.

Member of the Liberal Party State Executive (SA) from 1988 to 1992.

Coordinator of the Liberal Party Policy Committee (SA) from 1990 to 1992.

Vice-President of the Federal Young Liberal Movement from 1990 to 1991.

Member of the Liberal Party Federal Executive from 1990 to 1991.


Born 13.8.1967, Adelaide, Australia


Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament

LLB (University of Adelaide)

GradDipLegPrac (University of South Australia)

Research assistant to Senator AE Vanstone 1987-90

Solicitor 1991-93


A Letter To My Children, Melbourne University Publishing, Melbourne, Vic: 2015


Location: eastern Adelaide; it includes the suburbs of Athelstone, Burnside, Campbelltown, Dernancourt, Frewville, Gilles Plains, Glynde, Glenside, Hectorville, Highbury, Hillcrest, Holden Hill, Kensington, Klemzig, Magill, Marden, Paradise, Payneham (part), Rostrevor (part) and Tranmere.

Area: 85 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 104,742 (at 2.7.2016)