Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
GORMAN, PatrickBiography for GORMAN, Patrick

Member for Perth (WA)

Australian Labor Party

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Perth, Western Australia at by-election 2018, vice T Hammond (resigned). Re-elected 2019.

Committee Service

Joint Statutory: Corporations and Financial Services from 22.7.2019 to 24.3.2021.

Joint Standing: Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 23.7.2019.

House of Representatives Standing: Procedure from 10.9.2018; Publications from 10.9.2018; Tax and Revenue from 10.9.2018 to 11.4.2019; Communications and the Arts from 22.7.2019; Privileges and Members' Interests from 22.7.2019.

Parliamentary Party Positions

Shadow Assistant Minister for Western Australia from 28.1.2021.

Party Positions

Secretary of the Australian Labor Party Curtin University Sub-branch from 2006 to 2008.

Secretary of Young Labor (WA) from 2007 to 2008.

Convenor of the Australian Labor Party Conservation, Environment and Climate Change Policy Committee (WA), 2009.

Secretary of the Australian Labor Party State Branch (WA) from 2015 to 2018.


Born 12.12.1984, East Fremantle, Australia


Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament

GradDipBus (University of Western Australia).

MBA (University of Western Australia).

BSocSci (Curtin University).

Research Officer to the Hon. K Travers MLC (WA) from 2006 to 2007.

Electorate Officer to the Hon. M Parke, MP from 2008 to 2009.

Adviser & Senior Adviser to the Foreign Minister, the Hon. K Rudd, MP from 2010 to 2012.

Adviser to the Prime Minister, the Hon. K Rudd, MP, 2010.

Senior Adviser to the Hon. K Rudd, MP from 2012 to 2013.

Principal Adviser to the Prime Minister, the Hon. K Rudd, MP, 2013.

Director of Public Affairs for United Voice from 2014 to 2015.

Secretary of the Australian Labor Party (WA) from 2015 to 2018.


Name: Perth

Location: Perth is bordered by the Swan River to the south and east, the Mitchell Freeway and Kings Park to the west and the Cities of Vincent and Bassendean, the suburbs of Coolbinia (part), Menora, Inglewood (part), Bedford, Morley(part) and Noranda to the north. Suburbs include Ashfield, Bassendean, Bayswater, Bedford, Coolbinia (part), Dianella (part), East Perth, Eden Hill, Embleton, Highgate, Inglewood, Kings Park, Leederville, Maylands, Menora, Morley (part), Mount Hawthorn, Mount Lawley, Noranda, Northbridge, North Perth, Perth and West Perth.

Area: 80 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 101,535 (at 11.6.2019)

Industries: Industries include medical, education, retail, recreation, light industrial, commercial, tourism, transport, professional services, public services and hospitality.