Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
CAMERON, the Hon. Ross AlexanderBiography for CAMERON, the Hon. Ross Alexander

Member for Parramatta (NSW)

Liberal Party of Australia

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Parramatta, New South Wales, 1996. Re-elected 1998 and 2001. Defeated at general elections 2004.

Ministerial Appointments

Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Family and Community Services from 26.11.2001 to 7.10.2003.

Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer from 7.10.2003 to 26.10.2004.

Committee Service

Joint Statutory: Corporations and Securities from 8.12.1998 to 11.2.2002.

Joint Standing: National Capital and External Territories from 8.12.1998 to 11.2.2002.

House of Representatives Standing: Communications, Transport and Microeconomic Reform from 29.5.1996 to 31.8.1998; Family and Community Affairs from 29.5.1996 to 12.5.1998; Procedure from 8.12.1998 to 8.10.2001.

Conferences Delegations and Visits

Study tour, Hong Kong, Taipei and USA, January-February 2001

Party Positions

Member, Liberal Party Parramatta West Branch

Member, Liberal Party Federal Electoral Matters Committee


Born 14.5.1965, Sydney, Australia


Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament

B.Ec (Syd)

LL.B (Syd)

Policy adviser and research officer to the State Minister for Transport (NSW), the Hon. B Baird

Intern to US Senator the Hon. M Hatfield



Description: Inner Metropolitan

Location: north-western Sydney; it includes the suburbs of Carlingford, Dundas, Dundas Valley, Ermington, Girraween, Harris Park, North Parramatta, North Rocks, Northmead, Oatlands, Old Toongabbie, Parramatta, Pendle Hill, Rosehill, Rydalmere, Telopea, Wentworthville, Westmead and Winston Hills.

Area: 61 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 87286 (at 10.11.2001)

Industries: retail, financial services, transport industry, building materials, plant nurseries, major industry and tourism.

Electorate: Parramatta includes parts of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly electorates of Baulkham Hills, Epping, Granville, Parramatta, Riverstone and Wentworthville.