Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
BRODTMANN, Gai MarieBiography for BRODTMANN, Gai Marie

Member for Canberra (ACT)

Australian Labor Party

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, 2010. Re-elected 2013 and 2016. Retired at the expiration of term, 2019.

Committee Service

Joint Statutory: Public Accounts and Audit from 25.10.2010 to 9.5.2016; Public Accounts and Audit from 15.9.2016 to 11.4.2019.

Joint Standing: Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 25.10.2010 to 5.8.2013; National Capital and External Territories from 25.10.2010 to 9.5.2016; Parliamentary Library (formerly Library) from 2.12.2013 to 9.5.2016 (Joint Chair from 11.12.2013 to 9.5.2016); National Capital and External Territories from 15.9.2016 to 11.4.2019; National Broadband Network from 10.10.2016 to 11.4.2019.

Joint Select: Gambling Reform from 14.3.2012 to 24.6.2013; DisabilityCare Australia from 19.6.2013 to 5.8.2013.

Parliamentary Party Positions

Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Defence from 18.10.2013 to 23.7.2016.

Shadow Assistant Minister for Cyber Security and Defence from 23.7.2016 to 18.5.2019.

Party Positions

Various ACT ALP campaign, administrative and executive positions from 1992 to 2009.

Chair of the Australian Labor Party National Policy Committee, 2011.

Other Positions

Non-Executive Director and Audit Committee Member of the Cultural Facilities Corporation from 2000 to 2004.

Non-Executive Director and Audit Committee Member of ACTTAB from 2002 to 2009.

Director of the National Press Club from 2003 to 2004.

Volunteer Director of Gift of Life from 2007 to 2010.

Volunteer Director of Our Wellness Foundation from 2008 to 2010.


Born 24.11.1963, Melbourne, Australia


Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament

BPR (RMIT University).

GradCertBus (Monash University).

BA (Australian National University).

Federal public servant and media adviser 1990-2000.

Small business owner 2000-10.


Name: Canberra

Location: southern Canberra and outskirts; it includes the suburbs of Deakin, Forrest, Parkes, Red Hill and Yarralumla, extending to Tuggeranong, Weston Creek and Woden Valley, and the outlying rural areas of Tharwa and Tidbinbilla. It also includes those Norfolk Island residents entitled to enrol.

Area: 2,002 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 143,231 (at 2.7.2016)

Industries: retail and service industries, government and administration, agriculture, light industry and tourism. Territory electorates:

Includes: Canberra includes the Australian Capital Territory Legislative Assembly electorate of Brindabella and parts of Molonglo.