Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
SUKKAR, the Hon. Michael SvenBiography for SUKKAR, the Hon. Michael Sven

Member for Deakin (Vic)

Liberal Party of Australia

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Deakin, Victoria, 2013. Re-elected 2016 and 2019.

Parliamentary Positions

Member, Speaker's Panel from 12.10.15 to 9.5.16

Ministerial Appointments

Assistant Minister to the Treasurer from 24.1.2017 to 28.8.2018.

Assistant Treasurer from 29.5.2019.

Minister for Housing from 29.5.2019.

Committee Service

Joint Statutory: Corporations and Financial Services from 4.12.2013 to 11.2.2015; Public Accounts and Audit from 4.12.2013 to 10.2.2015; Human Rights from 22.10.2015 to 9.5.2016; National Broadband Network from 14.9.2016 to 1.7.2019; National Capital and External Territories from 14.9.2016 to 1.7.2019; Intelligence and Security from 15.9.2016 to 1.7.2019.

Joint Standing: Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity from 10.9.2018 to 1.7.2019; Corporations and Financial Services from 10.9.2018 to 1.7.2019 (Chair from 13.9.2018 to 1.7.2019).

House of Representatives Standing: Social Policy and Legal Affairs from 4.12.2013 to 9.5.2016; Tax and Revenue from 4.12.2013 to 9.5.2016.

Parliamentary Party Positions

Secretary of the Coalition Industry Policy Committee from 2013.


Born 11.9.1981, Melbourne, Australia


Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament

BCom (Deakin University)

LLB (Deakin University)

LLM (University of Melbourne)

Senior Consultant, PricewaterhouseCoopers 2005-06

Senior Associate, Ashurst Australia 2006-13


Description: Deakin

Location: eastern Melbourne; it includes the suburbs of Bayswater North (part), Blackburn, Blackburn North, Croydon (part), Croydon South (part), Forest Hill (part), Heathmont, Mitcham, Nunawading, Ringwood, Ringwood East, Ringwood North (part), Vermont and Vermont South.

Area: 70 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 99,698 (at 2.7.2016)

Industries: mainly residential with some light manufacturing, commercial and retail industries.