Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
TAYLOR, the Hon. Angus JamesBiography for TAYLOR, the Hon. Angus James

Member for Hume (NSW)

Liberal Party of Australia

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Hume, New South Wales, 2013. Re-elected 2016, 2019 and 2022.

Acting Ministries

Acting Minister for Industry, Science and Technology from 19.9.2021 to 8.10.2021.

Ministerial Appointments

Assistant Minister for Cities and Digital Transformation from 18.2.2016 to 20.12.2017.

Minister for Law Enforcement and Cybersecurity from 20.12.2017 to 28.8.2018.

Minister for Energy from 28.8.2018 to 29.5.2019.

Cabinet Minister from 28.8.2018 to 23.5.2022.

Minister for Energy and Emissions Reduction from 29.5.2019 to 8.10.2021.

Minister for Industry, Energy and Emissions Reduction from 8.10.2021 to 23.5.2022.

Committee Service

House of Representatives Standing: Tax and Revenue served from 4.12.2013 to 20.10.2015; Infrastructure, Transport and Cities served from 22.10.2015 to 2.3.2016

Joint Select: Trade and Investment Growth served from 25.9.2014 to 20.10.2015

Joint Standing: Parliamentary Library served from 4.12.2013 to 2.3.2016; Treaties served as Chair from 12.10.2015 to 22.2.2016

Joint Statutory: Public Accounts and Audit served from 4.12.2013 to 2.3.2016

Parliamentary Party Positions

Secretary of the Coalition Employment Policy Committee from 2013.

Shadow Treasurer from 5.6.2022.

Party Positions

Member of the Liberal Party Finance Committee (NSW) from 2008 to 2012.


Born 30.9.1966, Cooma, Australia


Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament

BEc (University of Sydney).

LLB (University of Sydney).

MPhil(Econ) (University of Oxford).

Rhodes Scholar.

Partner at McKinsey and Co. from 1994 to 2001.

Co-founder, shareholder and adviser of Farm Partnerships Australia and Growth Farms Australia from 1998.

Programme Director at Rabobank's Farm Leadership Programmes from 1998.

Director at Port Jackson Partners from 2002.

Co-founder and Director of Eastern Australia Irrigation from 2007.


The future for freight: economic analysis of the cost of moving freight on the inter capital city corridors [prepared for the Australasian Railway Association], 2005.

Earth, fire, wind and water: economic opportunities and the Australian commodities cycle [commissioned by ANZ], 2011.

Greener pastures: the global soft commodity opportunity for Australia and New Zealand [commissioned by ANZ], 2012.

The Promise of Digital Government: Transforming Public Services, Regulation and Citizenship [commissioned by Menzies Research Centre], 2016.


Name: Hume

Location: Hume includes the entire Councils of Boorowa, Goulburn Mulwaree and Upper Lachlan and parts of Camden Council, Liverpool City Council, Wingecarribee Shire Council and Wollondilly Shire Council. Towns include Appin, Boorowa, Bundanoon, Camden Park, Colo Vale, Crookwell, Exeter, Goulburn, Gunning, Hill Top, Marulan, Menangle, Meryla, Oak Dale, Penrose, Taralga, Werai (part), Wingello (part) and Yerrinbool (part).

Area: 17,240 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 116,405 (at 5.6.2019)

Industries: Mixed farming, grazing, fat lambs, fruit, vegetables, wine, timber and textiles. The area is noted for its fine wool with Goulburn being the home of the Big Merino. Belgenny Farm, former home of John and Elizabeth Macarthur, the Macarthur Campus of the Western Sydney University, the University of Sydney farms and the Mount Annan Botanic Gardens are also located within the Hume electorate.