Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
WILSON, Richard (Rick) JamesBiography for WILSON, Richard (Rick) James

Member for O'Connor (WA)

Liberal Party of Australia

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for O'Connor, Western Australia, 2013. Re-elected 2016 and 2019.

Parliamentary Positions

Member of the Speaker's Panel from 9.9.2019.

Committee Service

Joint Statutory: Public Accounts and Audit from 4.7.2019; Public Works from 4.7.2019 (Chair from 3.12.2020).

Joint Standing: Parliamentary Library from 4.12.2013 to 9.5.2016; Trade and Investment Growth from 14.9.2016 to 1.7.2019.

Joint Select: Road Safety from 24.10.2019 to 9.11.2020.

House of Representatives Standing: Agriculture and Industry from 4.12.2013 to 9.5.2016; Agriculture and Water Resources from 14.9.2016 (Chair from 3.10.2016); Indigenous Affairs from 14.9.2016 to 11.4.2019; Communications and the Arts from 14.9.2016 to 11.4.2019; Environment and Energy from 4.7.2019.

House of Representatives Select: Regional Australia from 17.9.2019.

Party Positions

President of the Liberal Party Katanning Branch.

Treasurer of the Liberal Party O'Connor Division.

President of the Liberal Party O'Connor Division.

Member of the Liberal Party Rural Policy Committee.


Born 2.1.1966, Katanning, Australia


Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament

BBus(Ag) (Curtin University).

Self-employed farmer from 1990 to 2013.

Vice-Chairman of the Grains Committee at the Pastoralists and Graziers Association from 2000 to 2008.

Chairman of the Grains Committee at the Pastoralists and Graziers Association from 2008 to 2011.


Name: O'Connor

Location: O'Connor covers a large area from the Shire of Ngaanyatjarraku in the north to the Shire of Dundas in the south following the coast west to Manjimup. The Division includes the Cities of Albany and Kalgoorlie-Boulder, and the Shires of Boyup Brook, Bridgetown-Greenbushes, Brookton, Collie, Coolgardie, Corrigin, Denmark, Dundas, Esperance, Kondinin, Laverton, Manjimup, Ngaanyatjarraku, Wandering and Williams.

Area: 868,576 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 101,983 (at 11.6.2019)

Industries: Industries include agriculture, fishing, forestry, aquaculture, mining and tourism.