Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
VAN MANEN, Albertus (Bert) JohannesBiography for VAN MANEN, Albertus (Bert) Johannes

Member for Forde (Qld)

Liberal Party of Australia

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Forde, Queensland, 2010. Re-elected 2013, 2016 and 2019.

Committee Service

Joint Statutory: Law Enforcement (formerly National Crime Authority from 15.6.1984 to 1.1.2003 and Australian Crime Commission from 1.1.2003 to 24.11.2010) from 4.12.2013 to 2.3.2015 (Chair from 11.2.2014 to 2.3.2015); Corporations and Financial Services from 22.2.2016 to 9.5.2016; Corporations and Financial Services from 14.9.2016; Public Accounts and Audit from 14.9.2016 to 15.9.2016; Public Accounts and Audit from 17.9.2019 to 5.5.2020.

Joint Standing: Parliamentary Library from 10.10.2016 to 1.7.2019; Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 6.2.2018 to 13.8.2018.

House of Representatives Standing: Petitions from 25.10.2010 to 5.8.2013; Indigenous Affairs from 4.12.2013 to 9.5.2016; Tax and Revenue from 4.12.2013 to 9.5.2016 (Chair from 26.3.2015 to 9.5.2016); Infrastructure and Communications from 24.9.2014 to 13.10.2015; Infrastructure, Transport and Cities from 19.10.2015 to 9.5.2016; House from 14.9.2016 to 19.9.2019; Appropriations and Administration from 14.9.2016; Tax and Revenue from 14.9.2016; Infrastructure, Transport and Cities from 4.7.2019; Procedure from 17.9.2019 to 5.5.2020 (Chair from 17.9.2019 to 9.1.2020).

House of Representatives Select: Intergenerational Welfare Dependence from 28.6.2018 to 2.4.2019.

Parliamentary Party Positions

Government Whip in the House of Representatives from 30.8.2016 to 2.7.2019.

Chief Government Whip in the House of Representatives from 2.7.2019.


Born 24.3.1965, Brisbane, Australia


Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament

CertFinMkts (Financial Services Institute of Australasia).

Bank officer from 1983 to 1998.

Financial adviser from 1999 to 2010.


Name: Forde

Location: The Division of Forde consists of: part of the Gold Coast City Council, and part of the Logan City Council.

Area: 418 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 107,261 (at 10.6.2019)

Industries: Retail, commercial and industrial activities.