Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
TEMPLEMAN, Susan RayeBiography for TEMPLEMAN, Susan Raye

Member for Macquarie (NSW)

Australian Labor Party

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Macquarie, New South Wales, 2016. Re-elected 2019.

Committee Service

Joint Statutory: Broadcasting of Parliamentary Proceedings (formerly Broadcasting) from 15.9.2016.

Joint Standing: Treaties from 1.9.2016 to 1.7.2019; National Broadband Network from 21.5.2018 to 10.9.2018; National Broadband Network from 23.7.2019 (Deputy Chair from 1.8.2019).

House of Representatives Standing: Communications and the Arts from 15.9.2016 to 11.4.2019; Petitions from 29.7.2019.

House of Representatives Select: Mental Health and Suicide Prevention from 2.2.2021 to 24.11.2021.

Party Positions

Delegate to the Australian Labor Party Macquarie Federal Electorate Council.

President of the Australian Labor Party Macquarie Federal Electorate Council from 2011 to 2016.

Delegate to the Australian Labor Party State Conference (NSW) from 2012 to 2016.

Delegate to the Australian Labor Party National Conference, 2015.


Born 30.7.1963, Sydney, Australia


Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament

BA(Comm) (University of Technology, Sydney).

Journalist in the Federal Parliament Press Gallery for 2UE from 1985 to 1988.

Foreign Correspondent in New York for 2UE from 1988 to 1989.

Foreign Correspondent in London for Austereo from 1989 to 1990.

News Editor for the London Broadcasting Corporation from 1989 to 1990.

Media Relations for Telecom from 1990 to 1991.

Media and Communications Trainer from 1991 to 2016.


Name: Macquarie

Location: Macquarie covers an area from the Hawkesbury and Nepean Rivers in the east, the City Councils of Blue Mountains and Hawkesbury border in the west. The Wollemi and Yengo National Parks form the northern border and the Coxs River, Lake Burragorang and Warragamba River form the southern border. Suburbs and towns include: Bilpin, Blackheath, Central Macdonald, Faulconbridge, Glenbrook, Katoomba, Lower Portland (part), Mellong, Mogo Creek, Mount Victoria, Mount Wilson, Richmond, Sackville (part), St. Albans and Windsor.

Area: 4,374 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 107,962 (at 5.6.2019)

Industries: Tourism, mixed farming, arts and crafts, horse breeding and training, printing and publishing, small manufacturing, higher education with the Western Sydney University Richmond Campus. Macquarie is also home to the Glenbrook and Richmond RAAF bases.