Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
LEYONHJELM, David EanBiography for LEYONHJELM, David Ean

Senator for New South Wales

Liberal Democratic Party

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the Senate for New South Wales 2013. Re-elected 2016. Resigned 1.3.2019 to contest election to the Legislative Council, New South Wales (defeated).

Committee Service

Senate Select: Wind Turbines from 27.11.2014 to 3.10.2015; Murray-Darling Basin Plan from 10.8.2015 to 9.5.2016 (Chair from 8.9.2015 to 9.5.2016); Red Tape from 9.11.2016 to 3.12.2018 (Chair from 9.11.2016 to 3.12.2018).

Joint Statutory: Law Enforcement (formerly National Crime Authority from 15.6.1984 to 1.1.2003 and Australian Crime Commission from 1.1.2003 to 24.11.2010) from 25.11.2014 to 9.5.2016.

Party Positions

Officeholder of the Liberal Democratic Party from 2007.

Treasurer of the Liberal Democratic Party from 2007 to 2014.


Born 1.4.1952, Nhill, Australia


Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament

BVSc (University of Melbourne).

MBA (Macquarie University).

LLB (Macquarie University).

Veterinary practitioner from 1974 to 1980.

Marketing manager from 1980 to 1988.

Industry development manager from 1988 to 1989.

Company director and agribusiness consultant from 1989 to 2014.

Military Service

Army Reserve 1982-83.