Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
O'CONNOR, the Hon. Brendan PatrickBiography for O'CONNOR, the Hon. Brendan Patrick

Member for Gorton (Vic)

Australian Labor Party

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Burke, Victoria, 2001. Elected to the House of Representatives for Gorton, Victoria, 2004, following electoral redistribution. Re-elected 2007 and 2010, 2013 and 2016.

Ministerial Appointments

Minister for Employment Participation from 3.12.2007 to 9.6.2009.

Minister for Home Affairs from 9.6.2009 to 14.12.2011.

Minister for Justice from 14.9.2010 to 14.12.2011.

Minister for Privacy and Freedom of Information from 14.9.2010 to 14.12.2011.

Minister for Human Services from 14.12.2011 to 5.3.2012.

Minister Assisting for School Education from 14.12.2011 to 5.3.2012.

Minister for Housing from 5.3.2012 to 4.2.2013.

Minister for Homelessness from 5.3.2012 to 4.2.2013.

Minister for Small Business from 5.3.2012 to 4.2.2013.

Cabinet Minister from 5.3.2012 to 18.9.2013.

Minister for Immigration and Citizenship from 4.2.2013 to 1.7.2013.

Minister for Employment from 1.7.2013 to 18.9.2013.

Minister for Skills and Training from 1.7.2013 to 18.9.2013.

Committee Service

Joint Statutory: Public Works from 20.3.2002 to 17.10.2007 (Deputy Chair from 21.3.2002 to 17.10.2007).

Joint Standing: Parliamentary Library from 27.3.2006 to 23.7.2016.

House of Representatives Standing: Employment and Workplace Relations from 16.2.2004 to 31.8.2004; Employment, Workplace Relations and Workforce Participation from 2.12.2004 to 17.10.2007 (Deputy Chair from 9.12.2004 to 7.12.2006); Library from 2.12.2004 to 7.12.2005; Education and Employment from 26.3.2015 to 9.5.2016; Employment, Education and Training from 15.9.2016.

Parliamentary Party Positions

Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Industrial Relations from 10.12.2006 to 3.12.2007.

Member of the Opposition Shadow Ministry from 14.10.2013.

Shadow Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations from 18.10.2013.

Shadow Special Minister of State from 2.3.2016 to 23.7.2016.

Party Positions

Delegate, ALP State Conference (Vic) from 1986

President, ALP St Kilda Branch 1988-89

President, ALP Melton Branch 2000-01

Delegate, ALP National Conference from 2000

Chair, ALP Caucus Committee on Government Service Delivery from 2002

Member, ALP Caucus Committees on Social Policy; and Economic Development and Living Standards from 2002

Chair, Federal Labor Parliamentary Industrial Relations Taskforce from 2005


Born 2.3.1962, London, England.

Qualifications and Occupations before entering Federal Parliament

B.A (Monash)

LL.B (Monash)

Diploma, Harvard Trade Union Program (Harvard)

Union official 1986-2001

Assistant National Secretary, Australian Services Union 1993-2001


Description: Outer Metropolitan

Location: north-western Melbourne; it includes the suburbs of Albanvale, Brookfield, Burnside, Cairnlea, Caroline Springs, Deer Park, Delahey, Derrimut, Diggers Rest (part), Exford, Eynesbury (part), Hillside, Kings Park, Kurunjang, Melton, Melton West, Melton South, Mount Cottrell, Plumpton, Rockbank, Taylors Hill, Truganina (part) and Toolern Vale.

Area: 562 Sq km

Electors enrolled: 115977 (at 2.7.2016)

Industries: horse training and breeding facilities.