Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment

   12   Battle of Long Tan

Mr Littleproud, pursuant to notice, moved—That this House:

(1)        notes that:

(a)        on 8 November at Government House the Governor-General awarded ten soldiers with military awards for actions at the Battle of Long Tan; and

(b)        these soldiers received these awards 50 years after the Battle of Long Tan:

                                                   (i)       which was the most costly single battle fought by Australian soldiers in the Vietnam War, involving 105 Australians and three New Zealanders from D Company 6RAR and more than 2,000 enemy troops; and

                                                 (ii)       where a total of 17 Australians were killed in action and 25 were wounded, one of whom later died from his wounds; and

(2)        acknowledges:

(a)        the ten soldiers who received an award, some posthumously, including Lieutenant Adrian Roberts, Sergeant Frank Alcorta, Lance Corporal Barry Magnussen (deceased), Second Lieutenant Gordon Sharp (deceased), Privates Neil Bextrum, Ron Brett (deceased), Ian Campbell, William Roche, Geoffrey Peters and Noel Grimes;

(b)        the service and sacrifice of all those who served their country in Vietnam; and

(c)        all of Australia’s service men and women who display courage, bravery and mateship above and beyond the call of duty.

Debate ensued.

The time allotted for the debate having expired, the debate was interrupted, and the resumption of the debate made an order of the day for the next sitting.