Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


Mr Shorten (Leader of the Opposition) moved—That so much of the standing orders be suspended as would prevent the Leader of the Opposition introducing immediately a bill for an Act to amend the Fair Work Act 2009 , and for related purposes, the bill being given priority over all other business for passage through all stages, and if consideration of the bill has not concluded by 4.30 pm on Monday, 27 February 2017, any necessary questions to complete consideration of the bill being put without delay.

Debate ensued.

Member directed to leave

At 12.10 pm the Member for Bruce ( Mr Hill ) was directed, under standing order 94, to leave the Chamber for one hour for interjecting and he accordingly left the Chamber.

Debate continued.

The time allowed by standing order 1 for debate on the motion having expired—


The House divided (the Speaker, Mr A. D. H. Smith, in the Chair)—


AYES, 66

Mr Albanese

Mr Danby

Ms Keay

Mr Perrett*

Dr Aly

Mr Dick

Dr M. J. Kelly

Ms Plibersek

Mr Bandt

Mr Dreyfus

Mr Keogh

Ms Rishworth

Ms Bird

Mrs Elliot

Mr Khalil

Ms Ryan*

Mr Bowen

Ms Ellis

Ms C. F. King

Ms Sharkie

Ms Brodtmann

Mr Feeney

Ms M. M. H. King

Mr Shorten

Mr Burke

Mr Fitzgibbon

Ms Lamb

Mr Snowdon

Ms Burney

Dr Freelander

Ms McBride

Ms Stanley

Mr M. C. Butler

Mr Georganas

Ms Macklin

Ms Swanson

Ms T. M. Butler

Mr Giles

Mr Marles

Ms Templeman

Mr Byrne

Mr Gosling

Mr B. K. Mitchell

Mr Thistlethwaite

Mr Champion

Mr Hammond

Mr R. G. Mitchell

Ms Vamvakinou

Ms L. M. Chesters

Mr Hart

Mr Neumann

Mr Watts

Mr Clare

Ms Husar

Mr O’Connor

Mr Wilkie

Ms Claydon

Mr Husic

Ms O’Toole

Mr J. H. Wilson

Ms Collins

Mr Jones

Ms Owens

Mr Zappia

Mr Conroy

Mr Katter


NOES, 74

Mr Abbott

Mr Fletcher

Mr Leeser

Mr Pyne

Mr Alexander

Ms Flint

Ms Ley

Mr Ramsey*

Mrs K. L. Andrews

Mr Frydenberg

Mr Littleproud

Mr Robert

Mr K. J. Andrews

Mr Gee

Mr McCormack

Mrs Sudmalis

Ms Banks

Dr Gillespie

Ms McGowan

Mr Sukkar

Ms Bishop

Mr Goodenough

Dr McVeigh

Mr Taylor

Mr Broad

Mr Hartsuyker

Ms Marino

Mr Tehan

Mr Broadbent

Mr Hastie

Mr Morrison

Mr Tudge

Mr Buchholz

Mr Hawke

Mr Morton

Mr Turnbull

Mr D. J. Chester

Ms Henderson

Mr Ted O’Brien

Mr van Manen

Mr Christensen*

Mr Hogan

Mr L. S. O’Brien

Mr Vasta

Mr Ciobo

Mr Howarth

Mr O’Dowd

Mr Wallace

Mr Coulton

Mr Hunt

Ms O’Dwyer

Mrs Wicks

Mr Crewther

Mr Joyce

Mr Pasin

Mr R. J. Wilson

Mr Drum

Mr Keenan

Mr Pitt

Mr T. R. Wilson

Mr Dutton

Mr C. Kelly

Mr Porter

Mr Wood

Mr Entsch

Mr Laming

Mrs Prentice

Mr Wyatt

Mr Evans

Ms M. L. Landry

Ms Price

Mr Zimmerman

Mr Falinski

Mr C. A. S. Laundy


* Tellers

And so it was negatived.