Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment

   19 Agricultural and Veterinary Chemicals Legislation Amendment (Australian Pesticides and Veterinary Medicines Authority Board and Other Improvements) Bill 2019

The order of the day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question—That the bill be now read a second time—

Debate resumed by Mr Fitzgibbon who moved, as an amendment—That all words after “That” be omitted with a view to substituting the following words:

“whilst not declining to give the bill a second reading, the House criticises the Government for repeatedly failing to legislate on agricultural matters in a timely manner”.

Debate ensuing—

Mr Joyce addressing the House—


Closure of Member

Mr Thistlethwaite moved—That the Member be no longer heard.


The House divided (the Speaker, Mr A. D. H. Smith, in the Chair)—

AYES, 58

Dr Aly

Dr Freelander

Ms McBride

Ms Ryan*

Ms Bird

Mr Georganas

Mr Marles

Mr Shorten

Mr Bowen

Mr Giles

Mr B. K. Mitchell

Mr D. P. B. Smith

Mr Burns

Mr Gorman

Mr R. G. Mitchell

Mr Snowdon

Mr M. C. Butler

Mr Gosling

Dr Mulino

Ms Stanley*

Ms T. M. Butler

Mr Hayes

Mr Neumann

Ms Swanson

Mr Byrne

Mr Hill

Ms O’Neil

Ms Templeman

Dr Chalmers

Mr Husic

Ms Owens

Mr Thistlethwaite

Mr Clare

Mr Jones

Ms Payne

Ms Thwaites

Ms Coker

Ms Kearney

Mr Perrett

Ms Vamvakinou

Ms Collins

Mr Keogh

Mrs Phillips

Mr Watts

Mr Conroy

Mr Khalil

Ms Plibersek

Ms Wells

Mr Dick

Ms C. F. King

Ms Rishworth

Mr J. H. Wilson

Mr Dreyfus

Ms M. M. H. King

Ms Rowland

Mr Zappia

Mrs Elliot

Dr Leigh


NOES, 76

Mr Alexander

Ms Flint

Mr Littleproud

Mr Sharma

Dr Allen

Mr Frydenberg

Ms Liu

Mr Simmonds

Mrs K. L. Andrews

Mr Gee

Mr McCormack

Ms Steggall

Mr K. J. Andrews

Dr Gillespie

Mrs McIntosh

Mr Stevens

Mrs Archer

Mr Goodenough

Dr McVeigh

Mr Sukkar

Ms Bell

Dr Haines

Mrs Marino

Mr Taylor

Mr Broadbent

Ms Hammond

Dr Martin

Mr Tehan

Mr Buchholz

Mr Hastie

Mr Morrison

Mr Thompson

Mr D. J. Chester

Mr Hawke

Mr Morton

Mr Tudge

Mr Christensen

Mr Hogan

Mr Ted O’Brien

Mr van Manen

Mr Conaghan

Mr Howarth

Mr L. S. O’Brien

Mr Wallace

Mr Connelly

Mr Hunt

Mr Pasin

Dr Webster

Mr Coulton

Mr Irons

Mr Pearce

Mrs Wicks

Mr Drum*

Mr Joyce

Mr Pitt

Mr R. J. Wilson

Mr Dutton

Mr C. Kelly

Mr Porter

Mr T. R. Wilson

Mr Entsch

Mr Laming

Ms Price

Mr Wood

Mr Evans

Ms Landry

Mr Ramsey*

Mr Wyatt

Mr Falinski

Mr Leeser

Mr Robert

Mr Young

Mr Fletcher

Ms Ley

Ms Sharkie

Mr Zimmerman

* Tellers

And so it was negatived.

It being after 1.30 pm, the debate was interrupted in accordance with standing order 43 and the resumption of the debate made an order of the day for a later hour this day.